1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

RT-AC3200 - Wifi failing...

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by JJTP, Nov 16, 2019.

  1. JJTP

    JJTP New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    My WIFI has failed,stopped/quit twice in the last two days.


    Suddenly, theres no SSID broadcast and all wifi devices fail to see the WIFI and the router does not respond via WIFI.

    I can still access the control panel and I tried to start/stop the wifi service with the app and pushing the wifi button on the front of the router. The network works fine and the router works perfectly otherwise.

    Nothing re-enables the router's WIFI until I power it down, and back on.

    I am going to file a warranty claim with an extended warranty company and I'm curious what you guys think I'm going to have to 'prove' to get a claim approved?

    The Router is from 2015. Can someone tell me in the log system where I should be looking for trouble codes?

    I have a diagnostic debug log capture going for the next 24 hours.
     
  2. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    USA
    Here's a decent price on a new 86U router:
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0752FD3XJ/?tag=snbforums-20

    OE
     
  3. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    14,290
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Might be time for a new AC adapter, I would check that first.
     
  4. JJTP

    JJTP New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2019
    Messages:
    5

    Hmm I wouldn't have thought of that as a cause of the problem. I'll have to check and find out what I can use to test in place of the one I got from Asus.
     
  5. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,875
    In addition to testing with a new power adaptor, when was the last time you did a full reset to factory defaults followed by a minimal and manual configuration to secure the router and connect to your ISP (without using a backup config file to restore from)? :)
     
  6. JJTP

    JJTP New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2019
    Messages:
    5

    ................never
     
  7. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,875
    Before you RMA it to get a refurbished unit (most likely), you may want to follow the M&M Config link in my signature below (or even the 'Nuclear Reset', in the same link too). ;)
     
  8. JJTP

    JJTP New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    I noticed they do refurbs. And I don't even want a refurb. Not for this kind of primary network gear especially. If they give me an option if It does turn out to be defective now, I'll take a payout instead.

    Checking the MM link.
     
    L&LD likes this.
  9. Scotland21

    Scotland21 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    I had the same problem, check the cpu usage when you lose wifi, mine was spiking, one core at a time. I also noticed that this only happened after making a change to the wifi settings.
    This I'm afraid is common (plenty of information on here), I cured my problem by following the Nuclear Reset process from this site and touch wood since it has been fine.
     
  10. JJTP

    JJTP New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Good info I'll check it when it goes down again. So far, since I've posted I have not had the wifi failure. But I believe it did occur around that time though it was not immediately after.

    And right as I type this, I see there is a firmware update. I'll be doing that after I Save my config.