1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

RT-AC5300 and RT-AC68U New Firmware Version 3.0.0.4.384.21140

Discussion in 'ASUSWRT - Official' started by Zvqra, Jul 10, 2018.

  1. Zvqra

    Zvqra New Around Here

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Version 3.0.0.4.384.21140 2018/07/10 45.93 MBytes

    ASUS RT-AC5300 Firmware version 3.0.0.4.384.21140
    - Fixed bugs.
    - Improved system stability.

    Download under MacOS for now.
    :)
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. Ronald Schwerer

    Ronald Schwerer Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    188
    Thanks for the heads-up. But why does the host OS matter? Isn't it just a zipped trx file?
     
  4. mlippold

    mlippold Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    I checked for firmware update on the router itself and it was showing for me. Updated without a factory reset for now, working fine (non-AIMesh setup).
     
  5. mlippold

    mlippold Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    I'm thinking he was just saying that he saw it on their website under that OS. They slowly update the website so you will find it under various OSes and not under others. As far as the file is concerned, you are right, it is the same exact thing.
     
  6. koaly

    koaly Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    It's actually also available for GT-AC5300 as auto update. Let's see what's improved.
     
  7. 128bit

    128bit Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    NC
    so how important is the factory reset post update? i've nver done one.
     
  8. Ronald Schwerer

    Ronald Schwerer Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    188
    Used the above direct download link. Anyone know what the MD5 is for the 68U?
    I got MD-5: 5249A5AA1516282422E8474D81D462BC
     
  9. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    506
    look here: https://www.asus.com/sg/Networking/RTAC68U/HelpDesk_BIOS/

    Version 3.0.0.4.384.21140 2018/07/1042.89 MBytes
    ASUS RT-AC68U Firmware version 3.0.0.4.384.21140
    - Fixed bugs.
    - Improved system stability.


    Please unzip the firmware file first then check the MD5 code.
    MD5: 5249a5aa1516282422e8474d81d462bc
     
    Ronald Schwerer likes this.
  10. Squall Leonhart

    Squall Leonhart Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    i wonder if this fixes the Media Bridge crashes.
     
  11. Ronald Schwerer

    Ronald Schwerer Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    188
    I'm curious what a Media Bridge does that an AiMesh node doesn't. Full disclosure, I've never found a purpose for Media Bridge. The only thing I can think of that isn't supported is Guest lan on the node. I guess that might be a show-stopper for some purposes.
     
  12. SwampKracker

    SwampKracker Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    Media Bridge is for connecting older wireless devices (801.11b, 802.11g) and/or connecting devices without wireless interfaces to your network. It is a great use for older routers that have been retired.
     
  13. Ronald Schwerer

    Ronald Schwerer Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    188
    Wouldn't a repeater, or node do the same thing?
     
  14. grueber

    grueber New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    I use mine to connect POE security cameras to my main router in locations where I don't have a hardwired port available.

    I could use it as an Aimesh node but I don't need the additional WiFi coverage and would rather keep the connection only for the cams.
     
  15. SwampKracker

    SwampKracker Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    The optimal way to accomplish my goal is to run a cable to an ethernet switch. I am just replacing the cable with three wireless-N streams. A wireless repeater or a mesh node would be even less optimal.
     
  16. monaro-ds

    monaro-ds Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    83
    I been using RT-AC68U as Media Bridge for 9 month it never crashed on me …
    here is print screen -time from last power outage ..
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Squall Leonhart

    Squall Leonhart Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Hardware revision differences matter.
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!