What's new

RT-AC5300 + GS116Ev2 = Link Aggregation Aggravation

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Ryme

New Around Here
Hello all, I'm a new guy here, but I've been in IT for the last 12 years. I've recently purchased the Asus RT-AC5300 and NetGear GS116EV2 in the hopes of using link aggregation between the two devices. I will admit that I am new to this sort of thing though I have worked with NIC teaming on my domain controller and gaming rig.

To the point - I'm now learning about LAG, LACP and the 802.3ad standard and am a bit confused. I logged into the router and enabled Bonding/Link Aggregation under switch control, then logged into the switch and set up a LAG group with ports 1 & 2 and poof, suddenly all devices on the switch lose contact with the rest of the network. Now I've double checked everything and I'm using ports 1 & 2 on the router (says the router manual) and ports 1 & 2 on the switch (first 8 ports can be setup for lag) yet I get nothing. Once I disabled the LAG group and remove one of the two cables from the switch I get full network connectivity back.

The question - I can't find anywhere in either devices documentation if they support LACP, or even what the difference between LACP and LAG is. All I know for sure is that both devices support link aggregation as per their boxes and documents, but as of right now I've got nothing but link aggravation. Sorry, I had to. So where am I going wrong?

Any helpful information would be gratefully appreciated. I know for one thing that I am going to stick with this router. The switch, if need be can go back and be exchanged if all else fails.

This link from NG forum indicates that your switch supports static LAG only.