1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

RT-AC66U-B1 Difference between HW Ver: A1 and B1

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by Gigabyte, Apr 5, 2017.

  1. Gigabyte

    Gigabyte New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    What is the difference between the RT-AC66U-B1 HW Ver: A1 and B1? Would like to run Tomato by Shibby or Merlin if it matters.

    Tried Googling and searching the forums but ASUS makes things very difficult by reusing the same names and putting A1 and B1 on everything. They're as bad as Porsche. I emailed their tech support but I'm not getting my hopes up. Hoping someone has done the research here and can share.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    My old RT-N66U Dark Knight died so the HW Ver B1 WiFi key is fitting.
     
  2. jtc242

    jtc242 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    I am very interested in the answer. FWIW I have an A1 HW Version and was not able to find a compatible tomato firmware. I was able to flash it with ASUSWRT-Merlin by using the RT-AC68U firmware.
     
  3. Blinkyz

    Blinkyz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Messages:
    393
    Location:
    Nowhere
    the difference between the RT-AC66U-B1 HW Ver: A1 and B1?
    A1 =CPU1: Broadcom BCM4706 (600 MHz) cpu
    B1 =CPU1: Broadcom BCM4708C0 (800 MHz, 2 cores) , this one use the same fw as Ac68U
     
  4. Gigabyte

    Gigabyte New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Are you sure about the A1? I'm currently using it and Core 1 and Core 2 are listed under system status with different usage percentages.
     
  5. Blinkyz

    Blinkyz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Messages:
    393
    Location:
    Nowhere
  6. bbunge

    bbunge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    868
    Location:
    Pennsylvania USA
    You need to be careful with these routers. The RT-AC66U_B1 is not the same as a RT-AC66U.
    My RT-AC66U_B1 has a H/W Ver. :A1, A dual core 1000 MHz processor and can be flashed with Merlin firmware for the RT-AC68U. Also has one front USB3 port
    The RT-AC66U is a single core processor with two USB2 back ports and uses a different firmware from the model RT-AC66U_B1
    Would be interesting to see what the difference is between the RT-AC66U_B1 H/W Ver A1 and RT-AC66U_B1 H/W Ver B1 as I've had some issues with the USB3 port on my router and am currently at F/W Ver 3.0.0.4.380_4164 per recommendation from Asus tech support. Am waiting for the 3.0.0.4.380_7378 firmware to see if it resolves my "issues."
     
  7. Gigabyte

    Gigabyte New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Yes, I would like to keep this thread specifically about the RT-AC66U-B1 HW Ver: A1 and HW Ver: B1. I loaded Merlin firmware on the HW Ver: B1 and it seems to have the same CPU as the HW Ver: A1. You should check for updates using the web GUI. The A1 updated to 3.0.0.4.380_7378 the first time I plugged it in and checked last night.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2017
  8. bbunge

    bbunge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    868
    Location:
    Pennsylvania USA
    Interesting about your update. I just checked the Asus US web site again and ran the FW check on the router and they both said Firmware version 3.0.0.4.380_7266-g6439257 is available. What country are you in? Are you having any issues with Adaptive QOS?

    My intent in talking about the plane AC66U and the AC66U_B1 model was to, again, flag that there is a difference between them.
     
  9. Gigabyte

    Gigabyte New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    That stinks. I'm in Boston. I noticed the website only had 3.0.0.4.380.7266 when I was grabbing backups before flashing the firmware earlier. Guess I'll just tease you with this for now.

    [​IMG]

    I knew what you meant and wanted to highlight it again. It was a good catch. Don't want anyone bricking their router. ASUS makes this very confusing.
     
  10. bbunge

    bbunge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    868
    Location:
    Pennsylvania USA
    Well, my neighbor still speaks with a funny Boston accent... I was stationed there in the early 70's and found the natives friendly...
    You flashed it with the AC68U "official" firmware? I suspect it would not hurt it as at least one part of the AC66U_B1 firmware (AIProtection test email) says AC68U!
     
  11. Gigabyte

    Gigabyte New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    It took a little while to get used to the accents here. They don't hold being from NY against me too much and are very nice.

    HW ver B was flashed to Merlin firmware. Wanted ASUS firmware as a backup in case I ran into issues and needed to restore.

    HW ver A1 upgraded itself to 3.0.0.4.380_7378 in the screenshot above. I don't remember if I was prompted during the initial router setup or if I checked Advanced Settings > Administration > Firmware Upgrade immediately after the initial setup.


    I received a response from ASUS. I had low expectations but this is even worse than anticipated.

    "It's just two different Version of the same router with a slightly different firmware and one being produced before the other

    Best Regards,
    Andrea M.

    ASUS Technical Support
    http://www.asus.com/us/support/"

    My original question was "What is the difference between the

    RT-AC66U-B1 HW Ver: A1 and
    RT-AC66U-B1 HW Ver: B1

    Production year 2016 for both."
    I attached the two photos from my OP too. Wish ASUS would tell us the difference and stop mixing hardware, model numbers and firmware like this.
     
  12. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    30,248
    Location:
    Canada
    Sometimes, the differences are purely manufacturing-wise. They could have added a capacitor here, replaced a memory chip by a newer/less expensive one, etc...

    That type of information is rarely known by the technical support department, as they have zero impact on the end users.
     
  13. bbunge

    bbunge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    868
    Location:
    Pennsylvania USA
    Still can find only the 380.7266 FW on the Asus USA web site for the AC66U_B1. So I did the unthinkable and flashed the 380.7378 for the AC68U. Since Merlin's version for the AC68U works on the AC66U_B1 I calculated it would work and it does! Still have mixed up Bandwidth Monitor values with IPV6 (6RD) enabled and Adaptive QOS issues when using Manual entries. But I had those with the original and Merlin FW.
    BTW - I'm originally from Western NY and the folks in Southern PA still think I talk funny (Is it creek or crick?)
     
  14. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    30,248
    Location:
    Canada
    They are exactly the same firmware. Asus does not compile different versions for these two models.
     
  15. Gigabyte

    Gigabyte New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    That's why good technical support departments escalate incidents and inquirers to more knowledgeable departments. I should have known this was going to be a headache after reading Tomato by Shibby's Router List "Hardware Rev C1 is not supported!", dozens of T-Mobile TM-AC1900 threads and what little I could find on the RT-AC66U. The RT-AC66U-B1 HW Ver: ABCDEFG1 is picking up where they left off. Fortunately there's plenty of time for me to shop around and return these headaches.

    I put the ASUS default 66U firmware back on the B1 prior to returning it and it did not update to 380.7378 automagically. Manually upgrading to the AC68U's 380.7378 worked. Found the following in the System Log > General Log. Everything else looks the same.

    HW Ver: B1 - Aug 1 00:00:17 kernel: Found a Zentel NAND flash:
    HW Ver: A1 - Aug 1 00:00:17 kernel: Found a AMD NAND flash:
     
  16. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    30,248
    Location:
    Canada
    In this case, we're not talking about an incident, but about someone asking information about manufacturing decisions.
     
  17. osi19

    osi19 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    The one i have ordered 3 days ago was RT-AC66U without label B1. But today i am receiving the newest version B1 with hw B1 and dual core processor. I am quite happy about that. The biggest CONS of this version is the undetachable antennas, otherwise i am receiving dual core processor and usb 3.0
    RT-AC66U B1 ed.jpg
    • ASUS RT-AC66U B1 H/W Ver.:A1 - BCM4708C0 (@1.0GHz Dual Core)

    Also has one front USB3 port, one USB2 back ports, AMD flash (NAND),
    and can be flashed with Merlin firmware for the RT-AC68U.
    • ASUS RT-AC66U B1 H/W Ver.:B1 - BCM4708C0 (@1.0GHz Dual Core)

    Also has one front USB3 port, one USB2 back ports, Zentel flash (NAND).
    ASUS RT-AC66U - BCM4706 (@600MHz Single Core), two USB2 back ports.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2017
  18. medwatt

    medwatt Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2017
    Messages:
    72
    I got the same one. Install Asuswrt-Merlin and be done with it.
     
  19. osi19

    osi19 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Asuswrt-Merlin for rt-ac68u is it compatible for router rt-ac66u B1 h/w B1?
     
  20. Pierino

    Pierino Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    868
    Location:
    Columbus Ohio
    Yes. Try to download the file from rmerlin fr the rt-ac66u B1.