What's new

[RT-AC68U] 5Ghz WiFi internet inconsistent download - upload fine

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Vlatko

New Around Here
Hi,

in advance I should say I'm no expert so if I mix up some terms or say something which doesn't make sense, bare with me. I will try and explain my issue as thoroughly as possible.

I am on a FTTH 200/100 mbps connection. I purchased this router(RT-AC68U) a few months ago to replace RT-AC1200G+(which had reboot issues) as it was generally recommended as a good option for AC wifi. Beside the reboot issue, the router(RT-AC1200G+) performed flawlessly on 5Ghz wifi - both upload and download were stable and never dipping below 200/100 mbps, be it on speedtests or downloading from fast servers. The speeds were always 100% consistent.

The RT-AC68U is giving me problems however. The router is directly connected to my ISP ONT. On LAN the speeds are at 100% every single time so that leads me to believe there's nothing wrong on my ISP side of things. But I purchased this router to get 200/100 on all my devices - because they are all portable/wireless. The firmware on the router is latest Merlin firmware. I have tried a number of factory resets on the router and the settings is all stock - except my PPOE username/password and VLAN tag(100) for internet.