What's new

rt-ac68u Guest Wireless in AP not restricting access to LAN

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

JustinDevelops

Occasional Visitor
I have been using ASUS-Merlin on my rt-ac68u for a few years with almost no issues. The past year I have been using Guest Wireless with 'intranet' access disabled. That has also been working great. Yesterday I implemented an PFSense firewall/router device in front of my ac68u (ac68u has dhcp/wan disabled) and my guest wireless access stopped working. You could see the SSID but could never connect to it. Everything else is working i.e. LAN access, regular wireless access. My ac68u was still in router mode at this point and I found that if I disabled the intranet restriction I could connect to the guest wireless and it worked but this was not optimal because intranet access was enabled.

After talking to someone that had a similar setup they said they used the ac68u device in AP mode while behind PFSense and it worked great, but have never ran guest wireless. I changed my ac68u to AP mode but I am still getting the same results from the guest wireless even though the admin screen explicitly states "The Guest Network provides Internet connection for guests but restricts access to your local network." Same results mean I can see all other devices on the network and even ssh into them.

Does anyone have any ideas or can I provide any more information that would help diagnose this issue?

What you are trying to do won't work. Think about it.