Solved RT-AC68U [Internal Storage] tab shows JFFS Unmounted

  • ATTENTION! As of November 1, 2020, you are not able to reply to threads 6 months after the thread is opened if there are more than 500 posts in the thread.
    Threads will not be locked, so posts may still be edited by their authors.
    Just start a new thread on the topic to post if you get an error message when trying to reply to a thread.

Wallace_n_Gromit

Senior Member
I first noticed that my [Internal Storage] JFFS shows as [unmounted] when I upgraded one of my 68U's to 386.1 and I couldn't enable SSH (Dropbear would fail to load--according to [System Log])

The first time I reverted back to 384.19 my [Internal Storage] JFFS showed it was mounted. Then upgrading back to 386.1 it was again unmounted without ability to SSH into router.

Subsequently, every version (unfortunately including 384.19) I have tried of Merlin's builds back to 384.8 shows my [Internal Storage] is unmounted BUT most earlier versions allow me to SSH into the router.

My Question: Assuming that this is not the result of some HW failure of the router; can the JFFS in the [Internal Storage] be "mounted" in SSH? What is the command/sequence to do that? And should/could it be CFE committed?
 

ColinTaylor

Part of the Furniture
Have you tried reformatting the JFFS using the option in the GUI (when using 386.1)?
 

Wallace_n_Gromit

Senior Member
Have you tried reformatting the JFFS using the option in the GUI (when using 386.1)?
I have tried that several times, ( didn't work to mount the internal JFFS) but learned/was under the impression that that reformat feature was only for the external storage JFFS2?

I am assuming you are talking about the 2 radio buttons under the [Persistent JFFS2 partition] menu tab? I have tried them. Did apply and reboot. still didn't work.
 
Last edited:

ColinTaylor

Part of the Furniture
I have tried that several times, ( didn't work to mount the internal JFFS) but learned/was under the impression that that reformat feature was only for the external storage JFFS2?
There's no such thing as external JFFS storage. JFFS is a partition on the router's internal flash memory.

I am assuming you are talking about the 2 radio buttons under the [Persistent JFFS2 partition] menu tab? I have tried them. Did apply and reboot. still didn't work.
Yes that was the option I was talking about. :(
 

Wallace_n_Gromit

Senior Member
There's no such thing as external JFFS storage. JFFS is a partition on the router's internal flash memory.


Yes that was the option I was talking about. :(
Thanks for clearing that up about "external" JFFS2 partition. It was not a clear/obvious notion with me. I have the problematic router on version merlin 384.8 currently linked to another computer. I just tried to format the JFFS, Apply >> Reboot. Still not mounted. The router seems to be working fine other than not being able to load all those cool :cool: 3rd party scripts, diversion, skynet, etc. I'll probably start running up the Merlin versions back to 386.1 (do the format JFFS etc if required) and see if I can get a version that will mount the JFFS.

My thinking, I guess, was that since the GUI is only the graphical representation of underlying code, if I could SSH into the router, could I explicitly enter a command in SSH that would mount/recognize the JFFS partition.
 
Last edited:

dave14305

Part of the Furniture
What is the output of cat /proc/mtd and ls -l /dev/mtd* ?
 

Wallace_n_Gromit

Senior Member
What is the output of cat /proc/mtd and ls -l /dev/mtd* ?
I'm currently troubleshooting the router on Merlin 384.10.2. This is the output from the router on that version -- still no JFFS mounted

@RT-AC68U-E870:/tmp/home/root# cat /proc/mtd
dev: size erasesize name
mtd0: 00080000 00020000 "boot"
mtd1: 00180000 00020000 "nvram"
mtd2: 03e00000 00020000 "linux"
mtd3: 03c6230c 00020000 "rootfs"
mtd4: 03ec0000 00020000 "brcmnand"
mtd5: 00140000 00020000 "asus"

@RT-AC68U-E870:/tmp/home/root# ls -l /dev/mtd*
crw------- 1 JAKDsCzp root 90, 0 Dec 31 1969 /dev/mtd0
crw------- 1 JAKDsCzp root 90, 1 Dec 31 1969 /dev/mtd0ro
crw------- 1 JAKDsCzp root 90, 2 Dec 31 1969 /dev/mtd1
crw------- 1 JAKDsCzp root 90, 3 Dec 31 1969 /dev/mtd1ro
crw------- 1 JAKDsCzp root 90, 4 Dec 31 1969 /dev/mtd2
crw------- 1 JAKDsCzp root 90, 5 Dec 31 1969 /dev/mtd2ro
crw------- 1 JAKDsCzp root 90, 6 Dec 31 1969 /dev/mtd3
crw------- 1 JAKDsCzp root 90, 7 Dec 31 1969 /dev/mtd3ro
crw------- 1 JAKDsCzp root 90, 8 Dec 31 1969 /dev/mtd4
crw------- 1 JAKDsCzp root 90, 9 Dec 31 1969 /dev/mtd4ro
crw------- 1 JAKDsCzp root 90, 10 Dec 31 1969 /dev/mtd5
crw------- 1 JAKDsCzp root 90, 11 Dec 31 1969 /dev/mtd5ro
brw------- 1 JAKDsCzp root 31, 0 Dec 31 1969 /dev/mtdblock0
brw------- 1 JAKDsCzp root 31, 1 Dec 31 1969 /dev/mtdblock1
brw------- 1 JAKDsCzp root 31, 2 Dec 31 1969 /dev/mtdblock2
brw------- 1 JAKDsCzp root 31, 3 Dec 31 1969 /dev/mtdblock3
brw------- 1 JAKDsCzp root 31, 4 Dec 31 1969 /dev/mtdblock4
brw------- 1 JAKDsCzp root 31, 5 Dec 31 1969 /dev/mtdblock5
 

Wallace_n_Gromit

Senior Member
An example of what I have tried on Merlin 384.10.2:
What I did: JFFS Mounted?
-Flashed 384.10.2>> no
-Reboot>> no
-Factory Default Restore w/ "initialize..." checked>> no
-Format JFFS partition at next boot Yes/Apply/Reboot>> no
-Power off--Wait 10sec--Press/hold WPS--Power on--
wait for power LED rapid flash/release WPS>>
no
 
Last edited:

dave14305

Part of the Furniture
Just a test to see if anything is visible in your jffs partition:
Code:
strings /dev/mtd4ro | head -50
 
Last edited:

Wallace_n_Gromit

Senior Member
Just a test to see if anything is visible in your jffs partition:
Code:
strings /dev/mtd4ro | head -50[ICODE]

@RT-AC68U-E870:/tmp/home/root# strings /dev/mtd4ro | head -50[ICO
DE]
head: invalid number '50'
[/QUOTE]
 

dave14305

Part of the Furniture
I had a mix of forum tags. See the updated post above.
 

Wallace_n_Gromit

Senior Member
I had a mix of forum tags. See the updated post above.
@RT-AC68U-E870:/tmp/home/root# strings /dev/mtd4ro | head -50
x^2340044
RP25
MLNLI)
@R`V
Bm#o
l6Eq
e```c
Rr^bn
OP~viH
RnbrbJJ
jA.*Fq
e```c
Rr^bn
OP~viH
RnbrbJJ
Q]dh:
.*Cq
hEQK
H;G.Zb
]cQ*
$mJa
~GZc
e```c
Rr^bn
OP~viH
RnbrbJJ
jA.bEq
0bFu
e```c
Rr^bn
OP~viH
RnbrbJJ
e```c
Rr^bn
OP~viH
RnbrbJJ
P]db0
D/cx
+#y!8
=s)S|\^
GF7U
K.ZA
vgkk
"C[I
)Sx^
e```c
T+(%
*Y)(
)0+
dP]db4
 

dave14305

Part of the Furniture
And for kicks, what happens if you run this:
Bash:
mount -v -t jffs2 -o noatime /dev/mtdblock4 /jffs
ls -l /jffs
No idea if it will work, but what have you to lose?
 

Wallace_n_Gromit

Senior Member
And for kicks, what happens if you run this:
Bash:
mount -v -t jffs2 -o noatime /dev/mtdblock4 /jffs
ls -l /jffs
No idea if it will work, but what have you to lose?
Not sure what the "Bash" part means:

@RT-AC68U-E870:/tmp/home/root# mount -v -t jffs2 -o noatime /dev/
mtdblock4 /jffs
mount: mounting /dev/mtdblock4 on /jffs failed: Input/output error

[email protected]:/tmp/home/root# ls -l /jffs
[email protected]:/tmp/home/root#

were you saying that I should create a bash file with those two commands in it?
 

dave14305

Part of the Furniture
Not sure what the "Bash" part means:





were you saying that I should create a bash file with those two commands in it?
No, but it didn't work anyway, kind of expected.

I'm out of ideas, except to suggest trying John's fork which always fit my AC68U like a glove. :cool:
 

Wallace_n_Gromit

Senior Member

No, but it didn't work anyway, kind of expected.

I'm out of ideas, except to suggest trying John's fork which always fit my AC68U like a glove. :cool:

That may be a great idea! I never thought of that. I have never tried his fork on any of my 68U's. It's kind of like that Meme of that guy walking with one girl (374. fork), turned around scoping out that second hotter chick (Merlin) then finding out that hotter girl is actually a he (can't mount JFFS)! << stretching that meme quite a bit there I know. :p
 
Last edited:

Wallace_n_Gromit

Senior Member
No, but it didn't work anyway, kind of expected.

I'm out of ideas, except to suggest trying John's fork which always fit my AC68U like a glove. :cool:
Just One Word: SWEEEEEEEET!

When I initially installed John's fork i was met with the typical "JFFS unmounted" -- bummer. Then I [Format JFFS partition at next boot] rebooted and VOILA!

Note: Still looking over my shoulder at that hotter chick! :D
 

Attachments

  • Web capture_5-2-2021_142451_192.168.1.1.jpeg
    Web capture_5-2-2021_142451_192.168.1.1.jpeg
    94.2 KB · Views: 58
  • Distracted Boyfriend.jpg
    Distracted Boyfriend.jpg
    107.8 KB · Views: 20
Last edited:

L&LD

Part of the Furniture
Nice!
 

RMerlin

Asuswrt-Merlin dev
Try resetting your JFFS settings:

Code:
nvram set jffs2_enable=1
nvram set jffs2_format=0
nvram set jffs2_on=1
nvram unset jffs2_size
nvram commit

Then reboot.
 
Last edited:

Similar threads

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top