1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

RT-AC68U router with Merlin - A wireless device disconnects when..

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by Mar Vi, Jun 15, 2019.

  1. Mar Vi

    Mar Vi Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Hey guys,

    I have the RT-AC68U router using 384.11_2 Merlin firmware. My main device (desktop connected via ethernet) seems to interfere with another device (laptop connected via wifi) each time I start up a game to play or perhaps stream. The laptop is connected using the 2.4 wifi band. This problem occurs just about every single time. I contacted my ISP and they checked to make sure that all is functional with my gigabit service. Not much they can do since I am using a 3rd party router. The laptop is a bit old, it's a win 7 laptop, so I was wondering if changing the mode to wireless mode to Legacy (currently auto) under the router admin page would help any. The device is usually around 15 feet from the router. I have no issues with other devices or my main pc.

    Can anyone give any tips or assist me in eliminating this problem?
     
  2. martinr

    martinr Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,051
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Can you expand on “seems to interfere with another device”. What form does the “interference” take? Would “interacts” be a better word because “interference” has radio frequency connotations and I’m not sure that’s what you mean.

    Can you describe the symptoms and any troubleshooting you’ve done?
     
  3. Mar Vi

    Mar Vi Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Sure. If the laptop is connected, as soon as I use my pc to play a game or watch video, the laptop disconnects. I say interfere because all other devices connected to the network doesn't affect this laptop at all. It's only when I use my device is when it knocks the laptop off or disconnects it and can't use the internet.
     
  4. dave14305

    dave14305 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    872
    Does your desktop use dhcp or is it assigned manually on the pc? Wondering if there’s an IP address conflict, somehow, somewhere. Do you use QoS and the FreshJR script?
    Anything in the syslog when this happens?
     
    martinr likes this.
  5. Mar Vi

    Mar Vi Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Both devices use static IP, I made sure that each device has its own ip, and I don't have QOS enabled. Im not sure about the FreshJR script. The syslog there.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. dave14305

    dave14305 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    872
    Change your 5Ghz WiFi from auto to something safe, like channel 36. That would avoid the scans from the log.
     
  7. Mar Vi

    Mar Vi Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Awesome, thanks for that. Here's my sys log now. Also, what can I do to remove some devices off the list? I blocked amazon firestick 2 days ago, but the router still picks it up.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. dave14305

    dave14305 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    872
    Is it yours? Why do you want to block it? Can you delete the WiFi profile from the device?

    This all doesn’t explain yet your 2.4Ghz issues. On Wireless log page, is your laptop connecting as n, ac, etc in the PHY column?
     
  9. Mar Vi

    Mar Vi Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Yes it is. Someone in my household lost the remote to it. But yes you're right, it doesn't correct my main issue. It is connecting as n in wireless log.
     
  10. dave14305

    dave14305 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    872
    Good, because it would have been impossible for it to connect to 2.4 as ac. I really wanted to confirm it wasn’t old like g or b.

    So can you reproduce the issue and show us the syslog before, during and slightly after the laptop disconnects? An ipconfig /all from both machines would be useful if you don’t mind. Might also help to “forget” the WiFi profile on the laptop and reconnect fresh.

    What does it take for the laptop to reconnect?
     
  11. bbunge

    bbunge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    943
    Location:
    Pennsylvania USA
    Upgrade your laptop to Windows 10!
    Set your 2.4 GHZ to 20 mhz channel 1, 6, or 11
    Set the 5 GHZ to a fixed channel
    Remove the static IP addresses from the devices and use the router DHCP to assign IP addresses to the devices.
    Lastly, make sure the laptop is upgraded to Windows 10! This is for your network security! Yes, your games will still run well in spite of what you have heard.

    Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk
     
  12. ApexRon

    ApexRon Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Apex, NC
    Typically Windoze (all versions) adds a lot of protocol baggage to the adapter being used. Review for each Windoze device and eliminate what you don't need.
     
    dave14305 likes this.
  13. Mar Vi

    Mar Vi Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    I'll try to when it happens again.


    I changed the channel from auto to 1 for 2.4Ghz, changed channel to 36 for 5Ghz. I will remove static IP if this helps the device from disconnecting.
    The laptop is used by someone in my household that does work and saves some files. There's light gaming done on it. Do you really suggest that it should be upgraded to Win10? Does anyone else agree with this? I only ask because I am not the primary user for that laptop, but if more ppl truly suggest it should upgrade to Win 10 then I'll tell them to upgrade. Thanks for the replies!!
     
  14. martinr

    martinr Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,051
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    “After January 14, 2020, Microsoft will no longer provide security updates or support for PCs running Windows 7”.
    That’s only 6 months away, so the time is soon approaching when some form of action will need to be taken. (Most likely a new laptop unless you want a wild goose chase looking for Windows 10 compatible drivers for an old laptop and the expense of a copy of Windows 10.) However, at present you don’t even know if the fault lies in the laptop: it may well lie in the router. And if it does lie in the laptop, there may well be a simple fix, which many of us are excitedly waiting for dave14305 to pull out of the hat for you.
     
    Mar Vi likes this.
  15. bbunge

    bbunge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    943
    Location:
    Pennsylvania USA
    Windows 7 is no longer considered a safe operating system. As for the drivers, I have had few issues upgrading from Windows 7 or 8. None of my PC's, laptops included, were acquired new as I volunteer with a not for profit that accepts used computers and refurbishes what we can with Windows 10. Many laptops are abused and have hardware issues and therefore are recycled. I can honestly tell you that we've installed Win 10 on some old machines and they run just fine. If you have 2 GIG RAM and a dual core processor Win 10 32 bit will run fine. The other advantage of Windows 10 is once it is installed on a PC it is easy to reinstall, say if your hard drive fails, without an install key as the PC processor is registered with Microsoft and the OS will self register when connected to the internet. This comes in handy when upgrading from a 32 bit to 64 bit OS. And, Win 10 has a good antivirus/anti malware included!
     
    Mar Vi likes this.
  16. dave14305

    dave14305 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    872
    LOL. I’m just killing time until @ColinTaylor arrives to save the day! :p
     
    L&LD, Mar Vi, joe scian and 1 other person like this.
  17. dave14305

    dave14305 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    872
    It’s wise to stay on an OS that will still receive security patches, so that is a good long-term recommendation, IMO. However, I don’t think there’s a compelling reason to think your older laptop with Win7 can’t work properly with an older router like the AC68U. What OS runs on the PC?
     
    Mar Vi likes this.
  18. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    8,847
    Location:
    UK
    No, not at the moment. I'd agree with all the other suggestions that @bbunge made, but if you're actually trying to determine the cause of the problem making random wholesale changes to things won't teach you anything. One might equally say "Reformat your hard drive and reinstall Windows" (the solution to every problem according to the Microsoft support forum :rolleyes:). Sure, it'll probably make the problem go away but you won't know why.

    P.S. I'm still using Windows 7.:)
     
    martinr, L&LD, Mar Vi and 1 other person like this.
  19. Mar Vi

    Mar Vi Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Great to know. Thanks.

    Great.

    My PC runs Win 10.

    I understand. So far the laptop isn't disconnecting while I'm using my main pc. Only changes done was change the wifi channels, a call from the ISP to which they rebooted on their end. I'll keep you all posted. Thx.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2019
    martinr likes this.
  20. martinr

    martinr Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,051
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Look forwards to your updates.

    I updated the OS on my Sony Vaio, now 8 years old, from W7 to W10. Sony support ended years ago. One driver, the touchpad, was a problem; after a lot of searching, I found an HP driver that works. For the other drivers, I went direct to the different manufacturers’ support sites. One driver, clearly not critical, can’t be updated; it has a yellow warning triangle against it, and if I stay out of Device Manager, I forget about it and resist the temptation to “fix” it. And thanks to Open Shell Menu, the laptop still looks and feels exactly like Windows 7.

    But for all the reasons Colin stated, this is all a bit if a distraction.