What's new

RT-AC86U as small business router...

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

OzarkEdge

Part of the Furniture
Can an RT-AC86U serve as a very small business router with private and public WiFi? I'm specifically wondering how to best utilize the dual-band wireless with AP isolation and/or guest networks with intranet isolation. The cable ISP speeds will be 60/5 Mbps. I'd appreciate any recommendations/advice as I have no experience in this application.

OE

Can an RT-AC86U serve as a very small business router with private and public WiFi?
Yes

However, in looking at my AC86U I am not certain how ASUS does this other than additional SSID. I am used to routers that allow guest SSID as well as a guest IP network. I really don’t want to make my router into a lab rat to find out.

The other piece that is missing is how to control traffic on guest network so that a guest doesn’t hog the bandwidth.

Yes

However, in looking at my AC86U I am not certain how ASUS does this other than additional SSID. I am used to routers that allow guest SSID as well as a guest IP network. I really don’t want to make my router into a lab rat to find out.

The other piece that is missing is how to control traffic on guest network so that a guest doesn’t hog the bandwidth.

Thanks! Traffic control may be beyond the scope of this project and my skills, and may ultimately reduce the spec to 'no public access, just trusted guest access'.

Here are some initial 86U 32799 findings using the ping test. I only tested using a 5.0 GHz WLAN and guest WLAN... too many networks and client connections otherwise to setup...