1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

RT AC86U CenturyLink 1GB GPON Speed issue

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by Josh Lever, Jul 16, 2019.

  1. Josh Lever

    Josh Lever New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Hi all,

    I have CL GPON fiber with the RT AC86U router connected to the ONT. I am connected using PPPoE & VLAN set to 201. I had a previous line speed of 100mb & was getting 100 up and down using a wireless connection.

    I recently upgraded by line speed to 1GB, flashed Merlin 384.12, reset my modem and am unable to get close to the expected speeds. Currently getting ~200mb down (best case), upload is ~700-800mb. Adaptive QoS is disabled.

    I've read stuff about Hardware/NAT acceleration and I think it's enabled, but not completely sure as i'm very inexperienced with this kind of stuff. Wondering if anybody could provide a list of settings for me to crosscheck once I can get back into the GUI?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Starrbuck

    Starrbuck Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    Go to Tools > Sysinfo and see if HW acceleration is enabled.
     
  3. Josh Lever

    Josh Lever New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for the reply. Flow Cache and Runner are both enabled. Ethernet port WAN says 1Gbps, I also set my 2.4ghz to 20mhz (N only), and 5ghz to 20/40/80 (mix AC/N). Any other suggestions?

    I was testing on DLSreports and again depending on the firmware version, couldn't consistently break 2-250mbs down. My highest upload was 850.

    Additionally, when I look at the CPU cores, neither consistently exceeds 5%, usually hovers 0-3%. Would this indicate that the HW acceleration is not working despite the GUI saying it is enabled? I've tried the 4 most recent Merlin Firmware versions.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2019
  4. JSinglestein

    JSinglestein New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    I think you need to enable QoS.
     
  5. doczenith1

    doczenith1 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    559
    Location:
    MI
    First of all, do not use QoS with a gigabit connection. Are you testing over wifi or wired?

    Wireless mode should be set to auto. Turn off airtime fairness on both bands.
     
    L&LD likes this.