1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

RT-AC86U Dying? or just random stuff?

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by mogulman, Nov 13, 2019.

  1. mogulman

    mogulman Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    I have an RT-AC86U. Firmware 3.0.0.4.384.45717. Been running great since I got it about a year ago.

    I signed into the web interface today and notice the RAM used was about 480mb out of 512mb. Seems a little high. So I rebooted using the reboot button in the UI.

    When the router rebooted, it came back with only 3 LEDs light (Power and Both Wifi). I saw the other LEDs for a few seconds, but it settled with just those 3. No WAN or LAN connectivity. No other LEDs came on.

    Tried powering off a few times and back on. Tried removing power for 30 seconds and trying again. No luck.

    So I did a hard reset using the WPS button. Booted up and everything seemed to be ok. I had to go and reconfigure everything from scratch. When I got to the USB setting, I enabled the USB drive setting and when the item was saving, the same thing with the 3 LEDS and no network access WAN or LAN.

    I powered off and back on, and it came back fine.

    I guess the question is... Is my RT-AC86U dying? Should I see if I can get it repaired/replaced?
    Or can stuff like this happen? Seems funky to me and I don't want to wait until it's completely dead.
     
  2. Grisu

    Grisu Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,690
    format and test stick on a PC and try again with factory defaults (hard reset)
    clear jffs too (factory reset with initialize)
     
  3. mogulman

    mogulman Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    It's a USB Portable HD. It's working now.

    I don't really want to reset again..since it's working. Just wondering if this is some type of symptom of the router dying.
     
  4. Grisu

    Grisu Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,690
    dont think so, mostly full or corrupted NVRAM or data corruption on USB device.
     
  5. mogulman

    mogulman Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Ok..thanks.. Just wierd that it locked up like that. I saved my config this time. I don't think it was the USB device, because it wouldn't boot even without the usb connected.
     
  6. Val D.

    Val D. Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    Great White North
    Is it powered from the router? If it is, you may see more issues soon.
     
  7. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    14,289
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    If it's bus powered (pulling power from the USB port), it might be pulling more power than the port can deliver.

    Have seen this in the past with many Router/AP's that support USB file sharing, not unique to Asus.