1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

RT-AC86U Possible Kernel Crash

Discussion in 'ASUSWRT - Official' started by Neil62, Dec 30, 2018.

  1. Neil62

    Neil62 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    109
    Is there anybody that can explain the below, the router is currently using the latest firmware in amesh setup:

    Dec 29 14:27:44 kernel: pgd = ffffffc009274000
    Dec 29 14:27:44 kernel: [00000000] *pgd=0000000012834003, *pud=0000000012834003, *pmd=000000000b385003, *pte=0000000000000000
    Dec 29 14:27:44 kernel: CPU: 1 PID: 10416 Comm: dcd Tainted: P O 4.1.27 #2
    Dec 29 14:27:44 kernel: Hardware name: Broadcom-v8A (DT)
    Dec 29 14:27:44 kernel: task: ffffffc01915cb00 ti: ffffffc0129b8000 task.ti: ffffffc0129b8000
    Dec 29 14:27:45 kernel: PC is at 0xf734ef44
    Dec 29 14:27:45 kernel: LR is at 0x1dc74
    Dec 29 14:27:45 kernel: pc : [<00000000f734ef44>] lr : [<000000000001dc74>] pstate: 600e0010
    Dec 29 14:27:45 kernel: sp : 00000000fffcbb48
    Dec 29 14:27:45 kernel: x12: 000000000009ff10
    Dec 29 14:27:45 kernel: x11: 00000000f65ff024 x10: 00000000000a02b4
    Dec 29 14:27:45 kernel: x9 : 00000000f65ffab8 x8 : 00000000000a076c
    Dec 29 14:27:45 kernel: x7 : 00000000f65ffaf0 x6 : 00000000000a0766
    Dec 29 14:27:45 kernel: x5 : 0000000000000000 x4 : 00000000f65ffa9c
    Dec 29 14:27:45 kernel: x3 : 0000000000000000 x2 : 0000000000000000
    Dec 29 14:27:45 kernel: x1 : 000000000007c674 x0 : 0000000000000000
     
  2. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,260
    Location:
    USA
    Disable AiProtection and see if the log clears up.

    OE
     
  3. Easy Limits

    Easy Limits Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    WA, USA
    I saw that same sys log a lot with stock firmware. Not so much with Merlin firmware.
     
  4. CriticJay

    CriticJay Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 30, 2018
    Messages:
    146
    And/Or Adaptive QoS, since that uses the Trend Micro engine too.

    I was just thinking yesterday that maybe I should re-enable Adaptive QoS, that maybe this problem had been resolved (thought it was related to a bad signature file update) - but I guess I'll continue to leave it disabled.
     
  5. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,260
    Location:
    USA
    Actually, the best way to disble the Trend Micro stuff is Administration\Privacy\Withdraw.

    OE
     
  6. vanic

    vanic Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Hi all,
    Known issue, and ASUS has fixed. Please wait for new firmware.

    Thanks,
    Vanic
     
    joltdude, Uffe and CriticJay like this.
  7. Uffe

    Uffe Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    It says that features may not work. Have you found that AiProtection and adaptive QOS still work if you withdraw? Thanks.
     
  8. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,260
    Location:
    USA
    Withdrawing turns OFF Trend Micro features. Turn 'em back ON as you use them. No big deal.

    OE
     
  9. Uffe

    Uffe Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Gotcha. I will turn off trend micro until new firmware arrives. Thanks.
     
  10. vanic

    vanic Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Taiwan