1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Rt-ac86u wired connection issue.

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by Silentsoul, Dec 5, 2018.

  1. Silentsoul

    Silentsoul New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    I recently upgraded from the rt-ac68u to the rt-ac86u. I have a weird issue occurring i can't seem to figure out. After a fresh reboot I am getting the limited connectivity triangle for about 15 seconds. I have tested this on 3 different pc's and have the same results. Only wired connection has this issue.

    Latest Asus firmware 3.0.0.4.384_32799

    It's coming up as Event 202 DeviceSetupManager.
    The Network List Manager reports no connectivity to the internet.
     
  2. PolarBear

    PolarBear Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    North of the Alps
    Does it all work correctly as expected after 15 seconds ?
     
  3. Silentsoul

    Silentsoul New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    As far as I can tell, yes. I'm trying to determine if there is an issue so I can exchange it if needed.
     
  4. PolarBear

    PolarBear Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    North of the Alps
    After a reboot it usually takes a while for everything to work correctly. 15 seconds is quite short.

    Unless something else is wrong, it sounds like a keeper.
     
  5. Dave Parker

    Dave Parker Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Marmaduke Ar.
    Similar situation here. Have 2 NAS boxes and printer connected to the network. Takes a bit to settle down after a reboot. The 86u is my third Asus router. Started with n66u then ac68u now the86u. All excellent routers. BTH would highly recommend Merlins firmware. Have used it since the n66u.
     
  6. Silentsoul

    Silentsoul New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    I have a Samsung nvme drive. Only takes about 8 seconds from power button till desktop. This doesn't occur on 68u or the netgear xr500

    Pc reboot. Not router, just to clarify.
     
  7. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,963
    Location:
    UK
    As this is essentially a Windows issue I suggest you examine the details of the event you have found to determine what the problem is.
     
  8. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,337
    First I would update to 45149, maybe solved there.
     
  9. Silentsoul

    Silentsoul New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    I would agree except this happens on 3 different pcs and only with this router.
     
  10. Silentsoul

    Silentsoul New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Still occurs.

    I ordered another one to see if it does the same thing.
     
  11. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,963
    Location:
    UK
    What I mean is that it's something that's effecting the operation of the PC so it's probably easier to diagnose it from the Windows side, given that it where the problem is manifesting.
     
  12. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,337
    disable airtime fairness, MU-MIMO and such things
     
  13. ApexRon

    ApexRon Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    Apex, NC
    Are these three PCs using the same type/model Ethernet adapter?
    Does it say "The Network List Manager reports no connectivity to the internet." as well?
     
  14. truglodite

    truglodite Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    87
    15sec after boot up then everything works fine? I guess that could be disruptive for some scenarios. It could be many things, but since it's ethernet at least that eliminates half of the possibilities. I'm no expert in this department, but I'd start with the obvious... look in to the router's dns settings (dnssec, maybe try a google dns server), and also lan settings (stp/jumbo frames).
     
  15. Silentsoul

    Silentsoul New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Two different intel nics and a killer.

    Yes, no connectivity error as well
     
  16. Silentsoul

    Silentsoul New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Already checked all that stuff to the best of my knowledge on it.

    I have another rt86u coming tomorrow just to see if there is an issue with the switch in the current one.
     
  17. ApexRon

    ApexRon Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    Apex, NC
    Just to confirm:
    • Issue is only associated with Ethernet
    • 3 PC have issue (2 with same NIC)
    • PC are cabled directly back of router (no switch)
    The Event 202 you’re seeing is just saying something’s broke nothing more.

    To me, it sounds like a configuration issue associated with DHCP on PCs because everything is working fine on WiFi, right?