1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

RT-AC86U with 384.17 shutting down completely

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by ObeliskAG, May 22, 2020 at 3:02 PM.

  1. ObeliskAG

    ObeliskAG New Around Here

    Joined:
    Friday
    Messages:
    3
    Not sure how to best report this issue.

    My RT-AC86U was upgraded from 384.15 to 384.17 on May 15th. Since then the device has "gone dead" twice. The symptoms are no connectivity from LAN or Wi-Fi, no LEDs on the front panel - it appears the unit has been switched off - but it has not. Turning the power switch off, pausing, then turning back on, restores the device to full functionality.

    There are no entries in the System Log regarding an error.

    I am considering reverting to 384.15 but I am wondering what other peoples experience has been.
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2020 at 3:08 PM
  2. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6,807
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Search this forum for this model and you'll find plenty of posts about it.
    It's common with your router model when it restarts.
     
  3. ObeliskAG

    ObeliskAG New Around Here

    Joined:
    Friday
    Messages:
    3
    I did search the forum and nothing lept out at me about the AC86U hanging up. The issue isn't when the model restarts, it is many days later when it crashes.

    As my search didn't turn up the right results, could you post a link to a relevant thread please?
     
    a5m likes this.
  4. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6,807
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Those are the exact symptoms with that router model for a restart that never fully ran.
    The syslog would not show any helpful info as at that stage it cannot write to the syslog.
    https://www.snbforums.com/threads/ac86u-sometimes-powers-completely-off-during-reboot.48296/
    https://www.snbforums.com/threads/rt-ac86u-hangs-on-reboot.55748/
    https://www.snbforums.com/threads/384-15-soft-reboot-did-not-complete-86u.62486/#post-557513


    https://www.shaolintiger.com/2014/03/17/asus-rt-ac68u-keeps-rebooting-restarting/
     
  5. ObeliskAG

    ObeliskAG New Around Here

    Joined:
    Friday
    Messages:
    3
    Hi thelonelycoder,

    Thanks for the links. I had not considered the scheduled restarts could be involved.

    Unfortunately, as the router is scheduled to restart on Fridays, this would not explain the outage at the beginning of the week, but might explain today's issue. I will disable automatic restarting and see what happens over the next week.

    Regards,

    ObeliskAG
     
    a5m and L&LD like this.
  6. randomName

    randomName Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    456
    Did you do a full reset/initialize of the router after the firmware upgrade or did you just install the firmware and that's it, aka a dirty upgrade.
     
    L&LD likes this.
  7. muffintastic

    muffintastic Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    152
    My unit is fine.

    The only thing I've modded is by adding a 120MM fan on the back, temps are a constant 43 degrees.
     
    randomName likes this.
  8. COBOL-Coder

    COBOL-Coder Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Hi, just as a FYI, I own a new AC86U (3 months) and just recently I will get up in the morning and look at my AC86U and lo & behold, no LEDS are on. It's like I had turned it off. I'll then turn off the power, turn it back on and it's running fine. I wll test for this but I never considered that it was on and still working but not showing the LEDS? In my setup I'm using the 86U as an AiMesh node with a wireless backhaul to my RT-AC5300. Both units are running the current Merlin firmware in a fairly vanilla setup.

    Sent from my SM-T830 using Tapatalk
     
  9. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6,807
    Location:
    Switzerland
    There's a button at the back to turn LEDs off and on, and a setting in Administration / System. Also, amtm has an LED scheduler function. Make sure none of them are pressed or activated.
     
  10. COBOL-Coder

    COBOL-Coder Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Yes, thanks, I'm aware of those. When I said "get up in the morning" it was implicate that the router was on, OK when I went to bed so the LED's turning off happened during the night, on it's own…

    Sent from my SM-T830 using Tapatalk