What's new

RT-AC87U Local DNS Problem

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

cliver

Regular Contributor
Hi, I have been working fine for a few years now on some advice I got from this thread . Albeit, I have now upgraded my router nd the old 66 is now an AP upstairs.
The problem I am having is that I currently have no internet because Plusnet cancelled my account without my requesting it and, without going into details, I am now waiting for a new service to be provided.
My problem is that, since my WAN dsconnected, my local servers (I have a music server and a NAS among other things) are not reachable by client name within my LAN. I can get to them by IP but not by name.
Some facts:
  1. All clients show a name in the router client list.
  2. ipconfig at a client shows my router as the only DNS server.
  3. In windows file explorer>network the clients show up by name but I can't open them.
I have tried flushing the dns cache to no avail.
I was expecting my LAN to carry on as normal while I wait for the new service to come up but it seems I was wrong.
I thought I have a grasp of the basics of DNS from my initial question a few years back. It seems I was wrong there as well :)
I attach My LAN and WAN DNS setup below.
Am I missing something obvious?
Any and all input appreciated.

Attachments

• LAN Settings.png
    LAN Settings.png
    33.9 KB · Views: 277
  • WAN DNS Settings.png
    WAN DNS Settings.png
    16.9 KB · Views: 272
Just a guess, but try turning off the WAN connection in the router's GUI (instead of letting it just fail to connect).

Just a guess, but try turning off the WAN connection in the router's GUI (instead of letting it just fail to connect).
Hi Colin,