1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

RT-AC88u Ring doorbell

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by Dfp, Mar 4, 2016.

  1. Dfp

    Dfp Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    I have the RT-AC88u,

    Trying to get it to work with a Ring Video Doorbell. Doorbell works fine on a billion and sagemcomm device without no modifications to ports etc.

    On the Asus Router it barely gets a connection and wont send video and very choppy audio.

    All firewall settings are off its running NAT.

    Cant see it getting blocked in the system log file.

    Have tried forward dmz to the device - same results.

    Any ideas at all how to try and get it to work?
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    6,886
    How is the ring video doorbell connected? If wirelessly, try creating a new ssid, use a new channel (not Auto) or doing a full reset to factory defaults to the router and then manually and minimally configuring it (do not use a saved config file).
     
  4. Dfp

    Dfp Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks it is pretty much a fresh router, have tried it on a different wap i used to use which was fine so not wireless. It has something to do with routing.,
     
  5. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,491
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ring Doorbell is a cloud/IoT kind of thing - not sure how well it plays with GrabNGrope (PlugNPlay), but perhaps contact Ring to see what ports they need open and manually map them out...

    I wouldn't put it into the DMZ, as this likely will confuse it ;)
     
  6. Dfp

    Dfp Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Yeah there is a ring page on ports https://support.ring.com/hc/en-us/a...in-my-firewall-for-Ring-Doorbells-and-Chimes-

    I did put them in port forwarding - but one is a huge UDP range which is hard to forward so skipped that range

    Have just tried factory reset it doesnt work out of the box either.

    I am assuming it must use UPNP normally as it works with other brand routers fine....UPNP is enabled on the asus
     
  7. mteicher

    mteicher Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Hello,

    I have the ring doorbell and it works just fine on 87U. Only real issue I have is motion detection is to sensitive.
    For me the video is not choppy and the sound is decent.
    You might wish to call them as there are some settings only they can adjust.
    I would be curios how things go.

    Is yours using the battery or hardwired?

    Michael...
     
  8. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,491
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    So is the video choppy on the LAN/WLAN, or just when you're off-site, not away from home?
     
  9. Dfp

    Dfp Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Both, i only literally get 1 frame of video for an entire ring in their cloud.

    Had emailed ring previously and they made changes but are claiming it is wifi issues....even though i connect a separate WAP which works on another router fine. Defintely a routing issue of some description.
     
  10. mteicher

    mteicher Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    My setup is pretty basic less MAC filtering. If you would like to compare settings let me know. I dont know why you think is a routing issue. Sounds to me like a wifi signal issue. How far is the doorbell from the router and what kinds of material are the walls etc that might impair signal strength to the router?

    What kind of cell phone? On the cell phone standing next to the doorbell, make a wifi connection to your router and see whats the signal strength. Or are you using your data plan for this?

    Michael...
     
  11. Dfp

    Dfp Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    At the moment the ring doorbell is about 20cm from the router for testing, so full signal with nothing in between
     
  12. mteicher

    mteicher Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    And with your testing you still get lag and 1 frame?
     
  13. Dfp

    Dfp Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Yep only 1 frame per call, if im lucky 2. If i swap out the asus router with a sagemcomm it works immediately with HD video and good audio. The sagemcomm is also on factory defaults
     
  14. mteicher

    mteicher Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Interesting. And the settings on both routers are basically identical?

    Have you reset the doorbell? Its been awhile but is there not a yellow button on the back?
     
  15. Dfp

    Dfp Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Yeah pretty much as identical as i can make them. I suspect the asus router isnt doing upnp properly but had already tried forwarding ports
     
  16. mteicher

    mteicher Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Why bother with UPNP and port forwarding for this. I think you might be making it to complex for its simple task.
     
  17. Dfp

    Dfp Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Same results with port forwarding and upnp disabled though
     
  18. mteicher

    mteicher Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Have you looked at the signal strength on the router for the ring? On mine it comes and goes but let me see if I can capture it...
     
  19. Dfp

    Dfp Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    im not sure how to handle that port range in forwarding though see attachment [​IMG]
     
  20. Dfp

    Dfp Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Yeah full signal on the ring in setup
     
  21. mteicher

    mteicher Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    I mean on the router under system log, wireless log. What is tx and rx for it?
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!