What's new

RT-AC88U w/ 2 x ZenWifi CT8 AiMesh - Gaming Nightmare!

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Enceladus

New Around Here
Hello, I'm new to this forum and I'd like to begin by saying I've scoured this forum for hours in an attempt to rectify my persistent issue so thank you to all contributors.

I'm not technically illiterate; however, I am when it comes to networking so I apologise if what I say is nonsensical.

A simplistic topology of my network is as follows:

Virgin Media Hub 4 (modem mode) --> Asus RT-AC88U (main) ~~wireless dedicated backhaul (5GHz-1 priority since the 88U is only dual-band)~~> (2 x ZenWifi CT8)

CT8-1 ---> Xbox Series X

CT8-2 ---> 2 x PC's and TP-Link TL-SG1005D Switch
Switch ---> Printer, CCTV, Xbox 360

Almost everything is working fine except for Xbox gaming.

It doesn't disconnect per se; it just seems to have some difficulty regarding the ports required for Xbox networking.

It'll only work intermittently before I'm cut off either from the online game, voice chat or both.

When it cuts out the Xbox NAT on the Series X will display either "Strict" or fail to display at all with a "Teredo Unable to Qualify".

My PC, on the Xbox Networking settings tab (or console companion on W11), also displays a NAT Type of either the same Teredo error or it'll say "Open" with the server connectivity "Blocked".

Since I'm guessing this is a NAT or UPnP issue it should be noted I also have two additional Xbox One's on the network connected wirelessly.

This is definitely a problem regarding the nodes as if I turn them off and connect wirelessly to the AC88u this problem never occurs.

I have done a factory reset on all devices and they're running the following firmware:

RT-AC88U: 386.4 (Merlin)