What's new

RT-AX86U New firmware messed up my 2.5g port.

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

B

BOBDOBBS

I'm new to Asus routers. I used to use Linksys, but bought an RT-AX86U.

I've had the RT-AX86U router for over 4 months now AND it's been solid with stable connections and speed.

Here's my setup:

RT-AC87U connected to the ONT Ethernet (landlord's router... it will be updated to a RT-AX86U tomorrow)

My PC / Windows 10 64bit Gigabyte Z490 board with a Realtek Gamining 2.5GbE port (updated driver).

CAT6a cable connected from my PC to the RT-AX86U 2.5g port. The RT-AX86U then connects to the RT-AC87U router wireless (is this called a bridge?).

I was able to connect to the net fine this way. Yesterday, I saw a new firmware for the RT-AX86U. So I updated that via the Asus router GUI. It updated HOWEVER, there is no more internet connection via the 2.5g port. I spent hours trying to fix this to no avail. Finally, I was able to connect via the normal LAN ports.

After hours of trying, resets and cable juggling, (I even tried Asus support to no avail), I decided to reach out.

Maybe I need to revert back to the previous firmware to fix this, but maybe someone knows some steps I should take to get the 2.5g port to work as a LAN port. It's a WAN/LAN combo port BUT I cannot find any info in the manual or even online/google on how to switch this port to LAN only (maybe it auto detects?). Previously, when it did work before the firmware debacle, it was set as MEDIA BRIDGE in the Administration tab in the GUI. It's been a frustrating experience to be honest, but I'm stubborn and want to learn more and set this right. Any expert suggestions how to get the 2.5g port to work like before?

Thanks for your time!