What's new

RT-AX86U Port Forwarding issue?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

RoadRunnerTR21

New Around Here
I have been involved with database administration for 45 years. Mostly mainframe (DB2 and IMS) and Oracle on Linux server. I am not a network person by trade but I can get the basics done. I am also NOT a gammer. That said, my work environment consists of a Arris SB6183 modem connection to the internet. My RT-AX86U router connects to the Arris modem. I have 2 PC's hard wired to the router and several wireless devices as well. This configuration has always worked well for me with what I do. However, last week I ran into a situation that my network contacts cannot solve. I believe I have isolated the issue as being the router which is why I am here.

The issue:
Normally, I can run a stored procedure on a mainframe using a Windows client side product called IBM Data Studio. Once I start data studio, I issue a connection to a mainframe's IP address and then run my SQL statements, stored procedures, etc.. That process works great with or without the router. The problem occurs when I try to run the stored procedure in debug mode. In debug mode, data studio starts something called session manager on the Windows client machine. Before debugging starts, the mainframe tries to ping the session manager IP address to verify it is there and that's when things fail. This ping process times out because the mainframe can't ping the session manger IP address using the designated port which is 4553.

While trying to troubleshoot the problem, I tried connecting my client machine directly to the modem. When I ran debug mode, the process worked correctly.

Modem IP is 43.223.xxx.xx
Client machine IP is 192.168.56.1