What's new

RT-AX86U PRO owners, experience thus far?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Dr Mono

Regular Contributor
The RT-AX86U PRO is down to $250 (Amazon). I'm slightly curious about the "Pro" features (VLAN, etc), so I am wondering if current owners like it. Thank you for sharing your experience!

I think the Pro is what the non-Pro should have been.

I think Guest Network Pro/vlans are still in beta firmware(?)

OE

The RT-AX86U PRO is down to $250 (Amazon). I'm slightly curious about the "Pro" features (VLAN, etc), so I am wondering if current owners like it. Thank you for sharing your experience!
I've been using AX86U (2) with AiMesh for 18 months,,,,it is rock solid - AsusWRT firmware ...

Why mine runs smooths and rock solid, I kept it simple!

Get 2 x AX86U ,,you won't regret !! Keep it simple , keep it simple and it would continue running very smooth, strong!

OE
Interesting point. You are right, the new features are beta. Maybe I'll wait for a future sale when these Pro features are out of beta.

That box supports tagged vlans if you don't mind configuration via SSH CLI. I had them running on the cheepo version (RT-AX86S). GUI support probably won't be for a few more months at least, but that model will be one of the first to get GUI support. If you do get it, get it from the ASUS website, or any 3rd party site except Amazon. Same discount without all the well known Amazon quality control problems with their discounted tech items as of late.

This is model specific and requires skills 99.9% of home router users don't have.
99.9999% of home router users to be more exact. I was sure OP was in that .00001% of home power users. Glad to be set straight by another 'part of the furniture'.