What's new

RT-AX88U From Amazon UK - Not UK model?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

JemTheWire

I purchased a AX88U from Amazon (UK). When it arrived, it has a 'continental' power adaptor, not one with a UK three-pin plug.

As I have lots of 2>3 pin adaptors about it's not really an issue. But, set me thinking. The router is working fine and it's GUI was/is in English on first power on.

I have registered the router with Asus. I suspect it is not a UK model simply because of the different power adaptor.

How can I check for sure and, if not a UK model, what issues might I get down the line?

As you can gather, I am a UK resident.

Thanks.

Was your router "Dispatched from and sold by Amazon", or was it from one of Amazon's "Marketplace Sellers"?

I always try to only buy stuff from Amazon directly to avoid any "grey imports".

Ah. I thought I was buying directly from Amazon, but you prompted me to check. It seems I got it from a ‘Market Place’ seller in my haste.

Provided it's an EU model it should be OK, apart from the inconvenience of the power supply.

I don't know whether this still applies to your router, but you might be able to issue the following commands from SSH to check the region.

nvram show | /bin/grep -E "ccode|country_code"

ASUSWRT-Merlin RT-AX88U 384.9-0 Sat Feb 2 18:20:15 UTC 2019
Gromit@RT-AX88U:/tmp/home/root# nvram show | /bin/grep -E "ccode|country_code"
1:ccode=DE
2:ccode=DE
size: 70928 bytes (60144 left)
wl0_country_code=DE
wl1_country_code=DE
wl_country_code=

Looks like it German!

Can it be changed to UK or GB? If so, what commands do I need to enter?

Thanks again.

That's OK. AFAIK there's never been a model that was specifically regionalised for the UK/GB.