1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Samsung TV not detecting 5Ghz on Asus DSL-N66U

Discussion in 'ASUS N Routers & Adapters' started by GameStoned, Sep 19, 2018.

  1. GameStoned

    GameStoned New Around Here

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Hi there,

    I have a Asus DSL-N66U router (https://www.asus.com/ae-en/Networking/DSLN66U/specifications/)

    I'm trying to connect on 5Ghz network from the router with my Samsung MU8000 TV (https://www.samsung.com/ae/support/model/UA55MU8000KXZN/#spec). I have a PPPOE connection through LAN. The TV connects to 2.4Ghz fine & streams but buffers because it's a 20Mbps connection. I would like to connect with 5Ghz & both bands are setup as same SSID name. I checked with Samsung & the TV supports 2.4 & 5ghz.

    Distance from TV to router is 5ft. So seems like some settings issue. Could you let me know what to look for?

    Other devices live my Laptop connects to 5Ghz fine but the TV doesn't show the network at all. Could you help out & let me know if there is anything wrong. My TV shows other networks from neighbors.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2018
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,195
    which channel do you use, maybe 149+ and your TV doesnt support it (here in EU 149+ are not supported by clients).
    change to ch. 36 and try again.
     
  4. Pierino

    Pierino Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    891
    Location:
    Columbus Ohio
    Also give it different ssid to see if it makes a difference.
     
  5. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,482
    Location:
    UK
    @GameStoned I have the same issue with my Hisense TV. It's because the TV doesn't support DFS channels. Change the router to use channels from 36 to 48 (or 149+ if that's valid in the UAE).
     
  6. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    695
    Location:
    USA
    Or wire it.

    OE
     
  7. ApexRon

    ApexRon Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Apex, NC
    The key to your symptoms is that the Samsung does not see your network. I concur with others, it could be a channel problem.

    I have a Samsung TV, though a different model, and no WiFi issue. However, I don't stream across the WiFi. My Samsung is connected to an AppleTV via HDMI. My backup is a digital antenna. My Samsung's WiFi is just used to check for software updates.
     
  8. GameStoned

    GameStoned New Around Here

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    hello all, thanks for all your support. Here is what I tried yesterday.

    1) Checked the channel & it was showing 36 for 5Ghz & 10 for 2.4Ghz
    2) Changed the SSID name from XXX to XXX_5G
    3) Still didn't see the channel (Didn't change the channel)
    4) Left the settings as it is & got a 3Mtr Cat6 LAN cable & connected to the router back port. Seems like streaming services like Netflix, Prime & IPTV loads faster now.
    5) Checked TV firmware & seems like it's updated to recent one.

    I'm trying to get another router & will do a check for the same.

    Meanwhile, does changing the channel affect other devices which are on 5Ghz? That's one of the reasons why I didn't change the channel.
     
  9. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,195
    they should take the SSID on all channels, never been a problem here. Its only that not all devices accept all channels as 12/13 in US is forbidden or 149-165 in EU and DFS channels 52-144 sometimes not supported.
     
    ApexRon likes this.
  10. ApexRon

    ApexRon Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Apex, NC
    If the Samsung is the only device that does not see your WiFi network, why try another router? Perhaps you should first try to perform a factory reset on the router and reconfigure.
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!