1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Server not found

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by Ramz, Mar 27, 2020.

  1. Ramz

    Ramz Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Hello my wife is working from home now. When she tries to connect to work she cant keeps getting server not found. Using Asus u86 with Merlin and DNS google 1.1.1.1 8.8.8.8. Funny thing is when I connect via ethernet, I can get to her work server but Via Wifi I cant. I checked the error and get "possible DNS-rebind attack detected" any ideas?? I dont want to run a wire to her computer if possible as she wants to work from anywhere in the house.
     
  2. dave14305

    dave14305 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3,002
    Location:
    USA
    Turn off "Enable DNS Rebind protection" on the WAN page, then test again. If it works, you can look to "allow" the blocked domain via a custom config file, but it may be easier to just leave DNS rebind disabled for now.
     
  3. Ramz

    Ramz Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Ok what else to I need to disable if that dose not work? That did not work just tried.
     
  4. dave14305

    dave14305 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3,002
    Location:
    USA
    Is she connecting to a "normal" WiFi network or a "guest" WiFi network on your router? Is she using a VPN client or is her work server accessible over the public internet? Do the rebind messages you saw include the domain name of her employer's server?
     
  5. Ramz

    Ramz Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Normal wifi and no VPN yes it does include her employers server.
     
  6. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    11,777
    Location:
    UK
    So it sounds like this is a laptop? If so temporarily move the laptop near enough to the router so that you can connect to it by cable instead of WiFi (remember to disable the WiFi). Then try again. If the problem persists you know that it's an issue with the laptop and nothing to do with WiFi.
     
  7. dave14305

    dave14305 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3,002
    Location:
    USA
    Do you have any custom DNS servers defined in the DHCP page, or DNSFilter page? I'm not sure why the difference in WiFi versus Ethernet unless you're assigning different DNS servers per MAC address, and MAC addresses would be different between a WiFi adapter and an Ethernet adapter.

    No point guessing though until she tests with Rebind protection disabled.
     
  8. Ramz

    Ramz Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    No I do not have custom DNS. just google DNS
     
  9. peepsnet

    peepsnet Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Messages:
    114
    Here are a few ideas from my experiences.

    Lets see what your wife's PC is using for DNS when connected to your WIFI:
    With your wife's PC connected to your WIFI do the following:
    press WIN + R
    type cmd in the run box
    type ipconfig /all in the dos window

    tell us what it says in the Wireless LAN adapter values under DNS Servers

    Then type nslookup wifes.workaddress.com 1.1.1.1

    You should see something like:
    Code:
    C:\Users\blabla>nslookup hello.com 1.1.1.1
    Server:  one.one.one.one
    Address:  1.1.1.1
    
    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name:    hello.com
    Addresses:  2001:4860:4802:38::15
              2001:4860:4802:34::15
              2001:4860:4802:32::15
              2001:4860:4802:36::15
              216.239.38.21
              216.239.34.21
              216.239.36.21
              216.239.32.21
    Then run the same thing without the 1.1.1.1
    Hopefully you will see the same results:
    Code:
    C:\Users\blabla>nslookup hello.com
    Server:  router.blessthishouse.home
    Address:  192.168.1.1
    
    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name:    hello.com
    Addresses:  2001:4860:4802:36::15
              2001:4860:4802:32::15
              2001:4860:4802:34::15
              2001:4860:4802:38::15
              216.239.32.21
              216.239.36.21
              216.239.34.21
              216.239.38.21

    nslookup domain.to.find dns.dserver.to.use

    The first test was bypassing your DNS config and asking the specified DNS server directly for the address

    The second test asked your PC to use its defined DNS servers from the DNS Servers listed under ipconfig /all


    Let us know what you get...
     
    dave14305 likes this.
  10. Ramz

    Ramz Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    I got 192.168.50.1 both times on DNS server.
     
  11. peepsnet

    peepsnet Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Messages:
    114
    And what about running the:
    nslookup

    ??
     
  12. Ramz

    Ramz Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    same
     
  13. peepsnet

    peepsnet Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Messages:
    114
    ok in a command prompt type: nslookup the.domain-in-question.com 1.1.1.1
    and copy and paste the results below:

    it should look like:
    Code:
    C:\Users\blabla>nslookup hello.com 1.1.1.1
    Server:  one.one.one.one
    Address:  1.1.1.1
    
    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name:    hello.com
    Addresses:  2001:4860:4802:38::15
             2001:4860:4802:34::15
             2001:4860:4802:32::15
             2001:4860:4802:36::15
             216.239.38.21
             216.239.34.21
             216.239.36.21
             216.239.32.21
    
    we are interested in the lower response

    Then run the next: nslookup the.domain-in-question.com
    and paste it
    it should look like:

    Code:
    C:\Users\blabla>nslookup hello.com
    Server:  router.blessthishouse.home
    Address:  192.168.1.1
    
    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name:    hello.com
    Addresses:  2001:4860:4802:38::15
             2001:4860:4802:34::15
             2001:4860:4802:32::15
             2001:4860:4802:36::15
             216.239.38.21
             216.239.34.21
             216.239.36.21
             216.239.32.21
    
    if you specify the 1.1.1.1 in the first example the top should not say 192.168.50.1
     
  14. Ramz

    Ramz Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    I got this time 127.0.0.1 if that helps.
     
  15. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    11,777
    Location:
    UK
    Just post the complete output of the commands as requested. Cryptic one line replies without any of the surrounding information is not helpful.
     
    martinr and peepsnet like this.
  16. Ramz

    Ramz Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Ok will do once i am back home
     
  17. Ramz

    Ramz Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    C:\Users\Teen>nslookup starmetrolandmedia.my.salesforce.com 9.9.9.9

    I did two this is what I get one with Quad9 then chenged to cloudfare
    Server: dns9.quad9.net
    Address: 9.9.9.9

    *** dns9.quad9.net can't find starmetrolandmedia.my.salesforce.com: Server failed

    C:\Users\Teen>nslookup starmetrolandmedia.my.salesforce.com 9.9.9.9
    Server: dns9.quad9.net
    Address: 9.9.9.9

    *** dns9.quad9.net can't find starmetrolandmedia.my.salesforce.com: Server failed

    C:\Users\Teen>nslookup starmetrolandmedia.my.salesforce.com 1.1.1.1
    Server: one.one.one.one
    Address: 1.1.1.1

    *** one.one.one.one can't find starmetrolandmedia.my.salesforce.com: Server
     
  18. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    11,777
    Location:
    UK
    Who's PC is this, yours or your wife's?

    On the same PC post the output of this command:
    Code:
    ipconfig /all
     
  19. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    6,292
    Location:
    United States
    What level of Merlin? If you have DoT enabled (DNS Privacy) try disabling it.
     
  20. Ramz

    Ramz Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Hi its mine as I cant get to her web site either so both laptops have the same server not found

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Wireless-N 1030
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : BC-77-37-76-F4-8F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c0c1:335a:4d76:e2d4%7(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.50.248(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, March 28, 2020 5:58:15 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, March 29, 2020 6:13:46 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.50.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.50.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 264009527
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-71-71-38-18-03-73-54-07-A3
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.50.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : BC-77-37-76-F4-93
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes