What's new

Setting up hardwired network in new house (newbie)

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Ryan Thompson

New Around Here
(Apologies in advance for the terminology which I'm sure is wrong in several places)

Hello, home network newbie here who needs some help (ok.. a lot of help). This is a bit long winded with several questions, so please bear with me.

A bit of background: I just moved into a new house. I'm getting 155mbps from my ISP, and currently have a DOCSIS 3.0 modem/router gateway (arris dg2470). It's connected to coax in a wall jack in my den, and I'm directly connecting a few devices to it via ethernet (PS4, apple TV, AV receiver). The rest of my devices throughout my home are connecting via wifi. However, wifi isn't strong throughout my house - I'm able to connect to the 2.4ghz network in every room, but not the 5ghz. My house has CAT5e jacks in every room, and I'd like to determine if / how it's worth getting these connected so that I can have hard wired connections in every room (as well as strong wifi throughout the house by connecting access points in other rooms), or if there are other alternatives that will help establish a performant network throughout my house.

As I said, I'm a newbie when it comes to networking, but I'm technically savvy (CS degree, professional software engineer) and I think I can get things set up with a bit of guidance. I have some general questions about if / how I should get started.