What's new

Setting up Open VPN Server on Asus RT-AC68U with Merlin

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

TorqueSport

New Around Here
Hi All,

First post so please go easy on me!

I have limited networking experience, but can generally work my way through problems.

My requirements are as follows:
I need to be able to connect from my iphone away from home, to the my home network to access the internet as well as network devices such as a NAS etc.

I have successfully managed to get the Open VPN server working on Asus RT-AC68U running merlin 384.8_2 to the point where my iphone (not connected on wifi) can connect to the VPN server and can access the internet through the VPN.

However, as well as routing internet through the VPN I also would like devices on my home LAN to be available to the iphone when connected through the VPN.
At the moment, this is not working, i.e. I can not access 192.168.1.5 from my iphone when connected through VPN.
The router IP is 192.168.1.1

I have tried and failed every single different fix method I have found on google.
This includes custom script, routing table.

Nothing I try will allow me to connect to 192.168.1.5

The iphone is given an IP of 10.8.0.2 by the VPN server and the device is on 192.168.1.5, so I know this a routing issue, but I can't see to find a setting to fix this.

Can anyone suggest an idea for me to try get this working?

here is the current set up:
1.png

Thanks in advance

I don’t run a VPN, but I would check that the device at 192.168.1.5 does not have its own firewall that is blocking 10.8.0.0 addresses.