What's new

Setting VPN Routing by MAC address?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Apnomis

New Around Here
I'm having trouble with setting up VPN on my Asus RT-AC86U. I'm trying to set it up to use VPN as default and I've found setting IP 192.168.1.0/24 to VPN routes everything to VPN (albeit it disables the router.asus.com and I have to use the IP address directly to get to the settings menu) and then I can choose what I want to exclude, i.e. streaming devices that don't like VPN (I've tried to work out how to exclude streaming services from the VPN but I'm a novice and the thread went completely over my head!).

However selecting the device from the list just selects the IP address and as all my IP addresses are dynamic they occasionally change IP - when this happens they come under VPN protection again stopping me from using streaming services. Is there a way to set exceptions by MAC address instead?

Is there any way to set exceptions by device, or explain (in simple terms) how to set exceptions to video streaming sites? I've tried finding some step by step instructions but they get very techie very fast!

I'm having trouble with setting up VPN on my Asus RT-AC86U. I'm trying to set it up to use VPN as default and I've found setting IP 192.168.1.0/24 to VPN routes everything to VPN (albeit it disables the router.asus.com and I have to use the IP address directly to get to the settings menu) and then I can choose what I want to exclude, i.e. streaming devices that don't like VPN (I've tried to work out how to exclude streaming services from the VPN but I'm a novice and the thread went completely over my head!).