What's new

Setup VPN Server and Client

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

life1

New Around Here
Hello, noob here with minimal CS background.

I've been trying to setup VPN server and client on my AX82U.

Once I activate my OpenVPN server (created with Vultr VPS, but considering testing NordVPN, because there was 30-40Mbps limit)

Once I activate VPN client on Router, I can't connect to Router VPN server anymore.

How do I fix this issue? Is there any simple solution?
I've found few articles in this forum, but solutions seems overly complex or I'm maybe missing out on something

Thanks for any help you guys may provide

The reason this happens is because once the OpenVPN client is established, all the router's replies are directed over the VPN, even if the incoming request is from a remote OpenVPN client to its OpenVPN server over the WAN! And that's NOT allowed due to RPF (reverse-path filtering). It's why sometimes router OEMs don't allow BOTH the server and client at the same time. They KNOW this will cause problems. Others may let you do it, only to have YOU discover it doesn't work for some unknown reason.

What's required is split tunneling on the OpenVPN client, so the router itself can be removed from its own OpenVPN client, thus making its OpenVPN server accessible again over the WAN. But most OEMs don't want to bother supporting split tunneling; it makes technical support that much more time consuming and costly. That's why many turn to third-party firmware like Merlin, where split tunneling is available.