What's new

Sharing my "newbie" experience on how to protect one's files yet have them available online whenever

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Cokie

New Around Here
*** WARNING: This is a post aimed to newbies like me! ***

Hi there,

I just managed to successfully install Merlin's firmware (june 2018) to my AC68U and now the FTP feature works flawlessly. Thanks, Eric!

Firstly... I am a Windows user, sorry -not knowledgeable for Linux and the like.

I am a consultant and I have my office at home. In order to have my files available when I am at a client's office, at first I used to have a portable hard disk which was connected to the computer with the software SecondCopy syncing my PC's folders with this disk. Problem was that, as time passed, I often forgot to take it with me when leaving home -sounds familiar? :)

Then I started to leave my computer on all the time -which I don't like to do, for many reasons- so I could access it remotely. This basically resorted to Window's "security" (alas!) to protect it from intruders. Not a great move, I know.

On top of this, I used to have a shi**y Comtrend router provided as standard by a big telecom to its customers so no AiProtection tools (as in ASUS routers) or anything of that sort.

Most recently, I've come up with a compromise which I believe offers a much better protection and peace of mind for me and which is easy to setup so I thought about sharing it with other newbies here which, like me, might not be as proficient in IT as some other folks in the forum.

• I bought an ASUS RT-AC68U, which although a bit old now, it seems to be a decent piece of hardware for a reasonable price. Disabled WPS, remote WAN access, and so on, as recommended in the forum.