What's new

Simple NAS for home.

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Sinalk

New Around Here
Hi,

I am new to all this NAS, hard drive networking, WLAN etc... stuff. But I think a NAS is what I need for me home; because I have a computer, a laptop and a PS3 at home that are used for watching films, listening to music and showing pictures in slideshows. On top of that, everyone uses the computer and laptop to do work and when it comes to getting certain documents we have to keep on transferring them by USB which is time consuming.

So I decided I needed to put everything in once place, at first I was going to get a server like the "HP Windows Home Server or the Fujitsu Servio" but a mate of mine said try looking at a NAS because they work out to be cheaper.

However after reading your thread "How to choose the right NAS for you?", I kind of understood this NAS jargon and was wondering if anyone could help me in deciding what NAS would be good for me.

I know that I need a NAS that can do the following:
- Store all my music, films and pictures on one place.
- Store all my documents and other files (like: .doc, .pdf etc...)
- Allow back up via an external hardrive (I originally thought RAID 1 was the best but read that it isn't 100% reliable it self but I do not mind having RAID 1 technology at least.)
- Allows computers, laptops and an UPnP device to access it (I understand that UPnP is more important then DLNA and Viva but having them in the NAS would be a bonus.)