What's new

Some help with Asus Merlin/fiber modem setup please

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Dref

Occasional Visitor
Hi everybody I am new to all this IP/Mac address/AsusAC68U/Merlin stuff so sorry if I am asking stupid questions/doing stupid things.

Firstly this is my setup Fiberhome 4 port (no wifi) modem router supplied by ISP.

IP for this I believe 192.168.1.1
Connected to this:

Lan 4 cable attached but free so I can "Admin" my modem/router (not possible through the Asus Router)

Lan 3 cable to my SIP phone - works fine

Lan 2 cable to my IPTV -works fine

Lan 1 cable to Asus AC68U (Merlined)

Asus AC68U Merlin

IP for this (assigned by the Asus on setup) 192.168.2.1

Connected to this:

Lan 1 a TP link 8 port SWITCH

No other ports attached.

TP link TL-SG1008D
All other cabled devices attached to the switch including NAS box, KIII android (Kodi box), Powerline adapter to my WD Cloud box and various computers. Several WIFI devices are connected by WIFI in the ASUS. Everything that can be is Gigabit.

Now - when I look at network devices from within the Asus I see all the correct devices attached (both LAN and WIFI) EXCEPT it does NOT show me the Switch - but maybe that's as it should be because it does show all the devices attached to it all with IPs of 192.168.2.XXX

The only thing that I am unsure about is that my previous setup with the switch directly attached to the fiberhome modem/router I could see the TP-link switch

However all appears to be working OK both around my LAN and WAN

I also ran angry IP on the range 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.2.255

This detected an unknown device on 192.168.1.1 which I take to be the fiberhome and the Asus on 192.168.1.101 as well as on 192.168.2.1 which I presume is correct.