1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Sort Manually Assigned IP DHCP list?

Discussion in 'ASUSWRT - Official' started by JohnD5000, Jun 13, 2018.

  1. JohnD5000

    JohnD5000 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Is there any way to sort the Manually Assigned IP around the DHCP list (LAN/DHCP Server tab) by IP?

    Thanks
     
  2. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,711
    yes, copy/paste to Excel ...

    no, but there have been some requests for that, maybe with a future release.
     
  3. VANT

    VANT Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    746
    Location:
    Poland
    Unfortunately, no, but I would really like to Asus add that functionality.
     
  4. LimJK

    LimJK Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Singapore
    JohnD5000,

    I have a list of about 40 devices, so I use SSH to save and restore some important or more tedious NVRAM setting including DHCP staticlist. I am on Mac …

    (1) Make a copy of the dhcp staticlist on a ThumbDrive “ASUS”
    nvram get dhcp_staticlist > /tmp/mnt/ASUS/dhcplist.txt

    (2) Edit the list. I used “Hex Fiend” Editor to move a block to the desired position or order; <xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx>192.168.1.101 where each block consist of <xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx> the Mac Address followed by IP Address to be assigned.

    (3) Restore the new dhcp staticlist from the ThumbDrive “ASUS”
    nvram set dhcp_staticlist="`cat /tmp/mnt/ASUS/dhcplist.txt`"

    PS: Before AiMesh, I only used Merlin's FW which allows the dhcp-staticlist list to be sorted in the GUI :)
     
    HuskyHerder likes this.
  5. JohnD5000

    JohnD5000 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    69

    Thanks, that worked! Had a little problem until I realized that the symbol after " is the `(under ~ key) not ' (under " key).

    BTW, I used to use Merlin too, but it is not compatible with AiMesh. Unfortunate. I saw a post where you can turn AiMesh ON in Merlin with a couple of lines of commands, but I'm not sure how stable that would be (otherwise Merlin would support it). I believe there are parts of Merlin that are not compatible. What would be nice if Merlin would support AiMesh if not using X Y Z etc functions . Many probably are not using incompatible functions. But, who knows what X Y Z functions are, so not worth the chance.
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2018
  6. LimJK

    LimJK Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Singapore
    Glad the convoluted way of sorting the dhcp_staticlist works for you :)
     
  7. badbob001

    badbob001 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    I hate the dhcp reservation interface on the asus firmware, which is why I still have an old wrt54gs running tomato as the dhcp server.
     
  8. JohnD5000

    JohnD5000 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    This is just a simple sort, would probably take a Asus programmer 5 minutes to code this.
     
  9. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,224
    Location:
    USA
    Apparently not. :)

    OE
     
  10. HuskyHerder

    HuskyHerder Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    316
    @LimJK

    Do you know if it's possible to restore the device name using your method? I am also on a Mac, running ASUS stock build at the moment.
    I have successfully restored the ID's and the IP's, many thanks for the specifics above and for any ideas on the names.
     
  11. LimJK

    LimJK Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Singapore
    HuskyHerder,
    Yes, the custom_clientlist is stored here (be careful of the quotes)

    Save Values:
    • nvram get custom_clientlist > /tmp/mnt/ASUS/custom_clientlist.txt
    Restore Values:
    • nvram set custom_clientlist="`cat /tmp/mnt/ASUS/custom_clientlist.txt`"
    I always like to do a complete factory reset when I upgrade to new firmware, so that I am certain I am starting from a clean state. I am lazy, so, I need to find someway to make the process as painless as possible :)

    There is a discussion here on how I use John's script to do that, however, please remember that the current script was written before Aimesh becomes available. By the way, I also customized all my devices icons which is stored somewhere else. Have fun!

    https://www.snbforums.com/threads/a...on-3-0-0-4-384-20648.46038/page-2#post-399998
     
    preacher65 and HuskyHerder like this.
  12. LimJK

    LimJK Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Singapore
    HuskyHerder likes this.
  13. HuskyHerder

    HuskyHerder Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    316
    @LimJK

    I wanted to give a huge thanks, for the help/links with the lists and the icons. Those are my most important files for me. I had them backed up, and then today, I rebuilt the system from scratch. It was so much easier to use the saved files vs hand coding all over again. I was back online in record time.
     
    LimJK likes this.
  14. LimJK

    LimJK Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Singapore
    Excellent!:) I am glad it is useful.
    By the way if you have old devices you sold away or gave away, you might want to edit away such old devices in "custom_clientlist.txt" before you do your next restore exercise. Eg. I upgraded to iPhoneXsMax and sold away my old iPhone ... so, I removed old iPhone from the list, if not it will be there for good; there is no GUI to remove them!
     
    HuskyHerder likes this.