1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Speed issues on AX11000

Discussion in 'ASUS AX Routers & Adapters' started by ja9934, Jun 17, 2019.

  1. ja9934

    ja9934 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Hi all,

    Thanks in advance for your help! I recently moved into a new home and signed up for Spectrum gig (about 970 down, 40 up), and I purchased an AX11000 to hopefully be able to fully take advantage of the speed.

    Overall, the router has been reliable with good performance over distance, but even at the closest range, I am not able to get the speeds I was hoping to. Out of the box, I could never achieve speeds over 400. I made some tweaks I believe I saw suggested on this forum (factory reset, disabling 160mhz channels, and one or two other settings I believe), and this helped. I got a speed test to break 800 next to the router once, but never again, and now I consistently get 600 next to the router.

    Obviously not bad at all, but I was hoping for better for the money. Is there anything else I can try? Since Amazon makes it low risk and easy, I tried plugging in a Netgear X10 and got similar results (but with worse range, so stuck with the Asus). Also FWIW, the netgear has a speedtest built into the router interface and I got 910 off of that.

    I've checked all of the obvious things (every ethernet cable I can find, different positions, different devices, obvious settings like QOS which is off, manually changing channels based on wifi analyzer results). Does anyone else have any other suggestions? Am I just setting my expectations too high for this router? Thanks so much for your help.

    P.S. Question while I'm here: Should I keep my two 5ghz channels on the same SSID or different? I'm just referring to 5ghz-1 and 5ghz-2, not 2.4
     
  2. Jayce Ooi

    Jayce Ooi Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Hi,

    What device do you use for testing? Most 2x2 mobile devices usually get up to 600Mbps only. You need to use LAN cable to get 1G rate.

    As for SSID, use different ones. :)
     
    Sunny786 likes this.
  3. ja9934

    ja9934 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    I’ve tested right next to the router on a Galaxy S10, iPhone XS Max, and Lenovo X1 carbon. I’ve tried hardwiring the Lenovo, but got very strange results (70 down) and got the same with the Netgear and modem, so I’m thinking something weird is going on with that laptop. I tried hardwiring with a usb c adapter to the galaxy s10 and also got about 600, but obviously I really need to try hardwiring another computer.
     
  4. Internet Man

    Internet Man Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2017
    Messages:
    347
    Keep some distance between the client and the router while keeping line-of-sight clear, at least 10 feet or so. If it's too close, MIMO won't work well.
     
  5. ja9934

    ja9934 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for the tip. Gave that a shot - unfortunately my results are pretty much unchanged.
     
  6. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,841
    If I recall correctly, the S10 does not support 160 MHz B/W.

    AX routers will not significantly increase throughput when used with AC devices. Higher link rates can be accessed only with AX devices. Right now, there are only two, the Samsung S10 phones and Intel AX200 and AX201 M.2 adapters.
     
  7. ja9934

    ja9934 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Would you say the speeds I’ve been getting are reasonable for an AC device? I guess I was expecting more, but if that’s pretty much the limits of AC, then that mostly puts me at ease.