1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Speed RT-AC66U

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by Paul C, Sep 19, 2019.

  1. Paul C

    Paul C New Around Here

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    I use RT-AC66U_B1 with firmware ac68u 384.10 and cable speed is 940 Mbps with 500 if I upgrade to a higher version does not exceed 200 with 200
     
  2. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,422
    Location:
    UK
    These words don't mean anything. :confused: Can you try phrasing it in another way.
     
  3. Paul C

    Paul C New Around Here

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    The download / upload speed test with 384.10 firmware is 940Mbps / 500Mbps
    the speed test with any later version is 200Mbps / 200Mbps
     
  4. bbunge

    bbunge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    974
    Location:
    Pennsylvania USA
    What do you have enabled on the router? Are you using a VPN? Is CTF enabled? Did you factory reset after upgrade?

    My RT-AC66U_B1 works very well on 384.13 but I do have a slow DSL.
     
    Paul C likes this.
  5. Paul C

    Paul C New Around Here

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    vpn is off, ctf is on
    the router goes well with 384.13 but low speed
     
  6. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,422
    Location:
    UK
    200 Mpbs would be consistent with hardware acceleration being disabled. Are you checking it's state at Tools > System Information > HW acceleration ?
     
  7. Paul C

    Paul C New Around Here

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    HW acceleration Enabled