What's new

Spoof email purported to be from Norton

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

SSri

Regular Contributor
I have an MBAM real time, which is a permanent licence - 10 years old — associated with one of the emails, which is no longer used except personal communications.

I use a different email for shopping and a lot of them get forwarded via hide my IP.

My AV is with bitdefender for 2 devices. It is due for renewal in 2 months. This account does not use hide my IP yet.

I never used Norton before.

This morning , I have received a renewal email from Norton for 2 devices priced at USD 499 - Norton security for 2 years. It shows auto renewed unless cancelled. Strangely, the email got re-directed to my email thru the hide my IPS.

I do think it is a spoof / phishing email. I am thinking of calling my card companies and put a note to track my cards and ignore this email. I can’t see where it came from.

Is there anything, which I can do.

Thanks!

Last edited:
Not spoof , it's a scam. You have no account with Norton so just delete and ignore.

Simple rule : never open an email if you don't know the sender and didn't invite then to mail you,.
Look at the email title, that should be enough to tell you what action to take.

Any mail saying your subscription is due for a product you've never had should be deleted immediately.

I use eMClient for mail , that allows to block the mail AND the senders domain.

Last edited:
The main method of spotting these scams is to hover your mouse pointer over any hyperlink within the email, and see the URL at the bottom of your mail client (most clients should do that). It's generally fairly obvious when you are getting redirected at a scam website by looking at the target.