SSH command to find the number of streams on 2.4GHz on AiMesh Nodes?

LimJK

Very Senior Member
Hi,
Is there some SSH command to find the number of streams on my RT-AC86U AiMesh Nodes 2.4GHz Band? Thank you.

Reason: Over the last few months I discovered that the 2.4GHz band on both RT-AC86U AiMesh Nodes takes turn to degrades from the usual 3 streams to 1 stream. I usually use WiFi Explorer (on Mac) to discover the degradation and do my usual work around by physical reboot of the offending AiMesh Node, or Remove and Re-Add AiMesh node from AiMesh GUI. However, if I am not at home I would like to find out if the degradation has happened. This happened in the last few releases of the 386 Firmwares on both Stock and Merlin.

Edit: https://www.snbforums.com/threads/asuswrt-merlin-386-2-beta-is-now-available.71038/post-677846
 

corgan2224

Occasional Visitor
on my RT-AX88U with lyra node with fw 9.0.0.4.386_41615-g7c2264e i can login to the node and type

2.4
Code:
wlanconfig ath0 list sta

5ghz
Code:
wlanconfig ath1 list sta

1618125158177.png


more commands:

get interfaces
Code:
nvram get wl_ifnames


wifi network summary:
Code:
iwconfig ath0

iwconfig ath1

on the RT-AX88U i have the "wl" command, which is sadly not present on the lyra nodes.
There you can grep all infos about a connected wifi client

like this
Code:
 wl -i eth6 sta_info DC:A6:32:A7:42:30


1618125829377.png


you can sneak into my old code if you need some kind of script
 

RMerlin

Asuswrt-Merlin dev
The commands are platform-specific. Something that works for Lyra's QCA will not work for Broadcom-based routers.
 

LimJK

Very Senior Member
on my RT-AX88U with lyra node with fw 9.0.0.4.386_41615-g7c2264e i can login to the node and type

2.4
Code:
wlanconfig ath0 list sta

5ghz
Code:
wlanconfig ath1 list sta

View attachment 33045

more commands:

get interfaces
Code:
nvram get wl_ifnames


wifi network summary:
Code:
iwconfig ath0

iwconfig ath1

on the RT-AX88U i have the "wl" command, which is sadly not present on the lyra nodes.
There you can grep all infos about a connected wifi client

like this
Code:
 wl -i eth6 sta_info DC:A6:32:A7:42:30


View attachment 33046

you can sneak into my old code if you need some kind of script
corgan2224,

Thanks for the details, unfortunately the commands does not seem work for my macOS environment:

For AiMesh Router RT-AX88U where 2.4GHz interface is eth6
Code:
wl -i eth6 sta_info <MAC Addr for 2.4GHz Interface>
or
wl sta_info <MAC Addr for 2.4GHz Interface>
For AiMesh Nodes RT-AX86U where 2.4GHz interface is eth5
Code:
wl -i eth5 sta_info <MAC Addr for 2.4GHz Interface>
or
wl sta_info <MAC Addr for 2.4GHz Interface>
All returned -> wl: Bad Address
I confirmed that my respective <MAC Addr for 2.4GHz Interfaces> are correct; I even tried both lower and upper cases.

Can someone else on macOS environment, please help validate / confirm it is a macOS feature / issue, or I have missed something, Any suggestions of possible workarounds would be appreciated. Thanks!

EDIT: PS: I just like to add that "wl -i eth6 phy_tempsense" and "wl -i eth5 phy_tempsense" actually work on my AiMesh Router RT-AX88U and AiMesh Node RT-AC86U respectively.
 
Last edited:

corgan2224

Occasional Visitor
The host environment doesn't matter, because you have to ssh login to your device and type the commands on your device.

On the router you can type
Code:
nvram get wl_ifnames
to get the wifi interfaces of your device

on the lyra you can type
Code:
iwconfig

There you can see your wifi interface names.

But as @RMerlin mentioned, the commands you can use depands on the router/node model. I can only tell you about my RT-AX88u and a lyra node.
 

ColinTaylor

Part of the Furniture
All returned -> wl: Bad Address
That's because you're trying to use the MAC address of the AP when you should be using the MAC address of one on the clients (STA). Although I don't think any of these commands show the number of streams.
Code:
# wl -i eth2 assoclist
assoclist EC:1F:72:F8:4A:21
assoclist DC:53:60:84:45:6D
assoclist D4:38:9C:BA:DC:30
assoclist D4:11:A3:C3:05:25
assoclist 64:6E:69:2B:C8:0D

# wl -i eth2 sta_info EC:1F:72:F8:4A:21
STA EC:1F:72:F8:4A:21:
         aid:5
         rateset [ 6 9 12 18 24 36 48 54 ]
         idle 1 seconds
         in network 1102 seconds
         state: AUTHENTICATED ASSOCIATED AUTHORIZED
         flags 0x11e13b: BRCM WME PS N_CAP VHT_CAP AMPDU AMSDU
         HT caps 0x6f: LDPC 40MHz SGI20 SGI40
         VHT caps 0x63: LDPC SGI80 SU-BFR SU-BFE
         tx data pkts: 425469
         tx data bytes: 98052954
         tx ucast pkts: 2505
         tx ucast bytes: 1662972
         tx mcast/bcast pkts: 422964
         tx mcast/bcast bytes: 96389982
         tx failures: 0
         rx data pkts: 2570
         rx data bytes: 543583
         rx ucast pkts: 2497
         rx ucast bytes: 535604
         rx mcast/bcast pkts: 73
         rx mcast/bcast bytes: 7979
         rate of last tx pkt: 6000 kbps
         rate of last rx pkt: 24000 kbps
         rx decrypt succeeds: 2127
         rx decrypt failures: 0
         tx data pkts retried: 30
         tx data pkts retry exhausted: 0
         per antenna rssi of last rx data frame: -43 -41 -45 0
         per antenna average rssi of rx data frames: -43 -42 -44 0
         per antenna noise floor: -96 -100 -97 0
 
Last edited:

LimJK

Very Senior Member
That's because you're trying to use the MAC address of the AP when you should be using the MAC address of one on the clients (STA). Although I don't think any of these commands show the number of streams.
Code:
# wl -i eth2 assoclist
assoclist EC:1F:72:F8:4A:21
assoclist DC:53:60:84:45:6D
assoclist D4:38:9C:BA:DC:30
assoclist D4:11:A3:C3:05:25
assoclist 64:6E:69:2B:C8:0D

# wl -i eth2 sta_info EC:1F:72:F8:4A:21
STA EC:1F:72:F8:4A:21:
         aid:5
         rateset [ 6 9 12 18 24 36 48 54 ]
         idle 1 seconds
         in network 1102 seconds
         state: AUTHENTICATED ASSOCIATED AUTHORIZED
         flags 0x11e13b: BRCM WME PS N_CAP VHT_CAP AMPDU AMSDU
         HT caps 0x6f: LDPC 40MHz SGI20 SGI40
         VHT caps 0x63: LDPC SGI80 SU-BFR SU-BFE
         tx data pkts: 425469
         tx data bytes: 98052954
         tx ucast pkts: 2505
         tx ucast bytes: 1662972
         tx mcast/bcast pkts: 422964
         tx mcast/bcast bytes: 96389982
         tx failures: 0
         rx data pkts: 2570
         rx data bytes: 543583
         rx ucast pkts: 2497
         rx ucast bytes: 535604
         rx mcast/bcast pkts: 73
         rx mcast/bcast bytes: 7979
         rate of last tx pkt: 6000 kbps
         rate of last rx pkt: 24000 kbps
         rx decrypt succeeds: 2127
         rx decrypt failures: 0
         tx data pkts retried: 30
         tx data pkts retry exhausted: 0
         per antenna rssi of last rx data frame: -43 -41 -45 0
         per antenna average rssi of rx data frames: -43 -42 -44 0
         per antenna noise floor: -96 -100 -97 0
ColinTaylor,
Yes, I am looking for the number of streams for my 2.4GHz interface of my RT-AC86U AiMesh Node, is there some other ways to find out over SSH Command. Currently I am using WiFi Explorer App on my MacBookPro that shows me the number of streams from ALL AiMesh Router / Nodes of both 2.4GHz and 5GHz Interfaces, it works only when I am in my HomeNetwork.
Thank you so much for educating and pointing me to the "assoclist" that shows me the STA that is associated to the interface eth5 (2.4GHz) & eth6 (5GHz) for the command to work.

corgan2224,
Thanks for pointing me to this SSH wl Command, EDIT: by the way it works on RT-AC86u just like on RT-AX88u (HND models)
 
Last edited:

Rockel83

Occasional Visitor
I would like to use the home assisstant Command_line_ sensor to notify me when there's an update available for my RT-AC2900. I've SSH already enabled for some other purposeswith HASS.
But annyone anny idea how to find this "new update" flag in the router?
 

ColinTaylor

Part of the Furniture
I would like to use the home assisstant Command_line_ sensor to notify me when there's an update available for my RT-AC2900. I've SSH already enabled for some other purposeswith HASS.
But annyone anny idea how to find this "new update" flag in the router?
I don't see how your question is related to the subject of this thread (detecting the number of WiFi streams of an AiMesh node). Probably best to start a new thread for your particular question.
 

Pergola Fabio

Senior Member
@LimJK , was the command now working? Did you see the streams when you do an ssh to the node?

I also have ac86 u as nodes, and speed Aldo drops after days/weeks ... I want to identify this somehow
 

LimJK

Very Senior Member
@LimJK , was the command now working? Did you see the streams when you do an ssh to the node?

I also have ac86 u as nodes, and speed Aldo drops after days/weeks ... I want to identify this somehow
Pergola,
This is a 10 month old thread, Sorry, I have not figured a way to do it via SSH for Stream information 2.4GHz and 5GHz band for my AiMesh Router and Nodes. I am happy using WiFi Explorer on my MacBookPro as per my first post. Sorry.
 

LimJK

Very Senior Member
Ok, np

Do you know by any chance a windows app that can display streams?
I have not use Windows for ages, not sure inSSIDer provides streams information.

Edit: Fingers of retiree a bit slow on keyboard, see Colin Taylor's post above:)
 
Last edited:

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top