1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Stupid question can one single router cover a 1900 sq ft house by itself ?

Discussion in 'Wireless Buying Advice' started by ng4ever, Nov 22, 2019.

  1. ng4ever

    ng4ever Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 30, 2017
    Messages:
    91
    If so which ones ?
     
  2. coxhaus

    coxhaus Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,186
    Location:
    texas
    Too many variables. What are walls made of? Is there tile in the middle? Is the router located in the middle? etc....

    What signal quality do you expect? Some people are happy with low levels and not much bandwidth.
     
    ng4ever and dave14305 like this.
  3. dave14305

    dave14305 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    1,487
    Location:
    USA
    Is that 1900 sq ft house a 2-story, a ranch, etc. The shape of the house is a factor.
     
    ng4ever likes this.
  4. ng4ever

    ng4ever Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 30, 2017
    Messages:
    91
    Sorry don't work in construction so not sure and I am stupid when it comes to that :(

    Signal quality I want at least medium.
     
  5. ng4ever

    ng4ever Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 30, 2017
    Messages:
    91
    No one story. It is a square house!
     
  6. ng4ever

    ng4ever Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 30, 2017
    Messages:
    91
    Oh yeah the placement of the router would be in the middle of the house or as close as I can get to the middle.
     
  7. coxhaus

    coxhaus Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,186
    Location:
    texas
    On the ceiling or wall, hopefully not in a closet or cabinet.
     
    ng4ever likes this.
  8. ng4ever

    ng4ever Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 30, 2017
    Messages:
    91
    Wall.
     
  9. Val D.

    Val D. Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Great White North
    A single transmitting wireless device may cover your entire city, no issues with that.
    The issues start when client devices have to communicate back to the transmitting device.

    In other words, you may get the best WiFi router available, but is your laptop on the other side of the house through 3 walls will be able to communicate with this router? Even if the router's transmit power is 1000mW, your laptop's WiFi card transmit power is still the same 10mW. WiFi is a 2-way communication. Radio stations to radio receivers is 1-way communication.

    Even if you provide all the details about your place, the only sure method to find out if it is going to work is to try. There are too many variables in this equation, no one can give you definitive answer. A piece of furniture with large metal parts, a microwave oven, a noisy electronic device, a large fridge, etc. may negatively affect WiFi performance.
     
    ng4ever likes this.
  10. Budgeter

    Budgeter Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    It depends on many variable, so this question can't have an exact answer. My experience on this is any decent mid-high end router will be enough to cover whole 1 story house if it is put in the middle of the story at good position. In my home country, walls are all made from concrete, and routers like Archer C2300, R7800 can pretty much cover the whole 2000-2500 sq ft floor. However, for multi-story house, nothing can.
     
  11. Val D.

    Val D. Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Great White North
    That thing is expensive (about CAD400 here in Canada), but one hell of a router. I've played with a few, constant stellar performance.
     
  12. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,857
    It depends on the 'house'. And the network environment. ;)

    RT-AC3100 Report https://www.snbforums.com/threads/s...-go-with-the-rt-ac1900p-v3.34748/#post-281391

    And that was back in 2016 too, over three years ago.
     
    Budgeter likes this.
  13. Budgeter

    Budgeter Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    I agree, but my R7800 performance significantly drop performance when Guest network is enabled. This is the only flaw I experience in this router sample. Still, I used C2300 as the main router instead since it has better overall local network performance.

    That is for sure, so no one can have an answer for op case. I just want to let op know some routers can do it in some specific or ideal scenario.
     
  14. Val D.

    Val D. Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Great White North
    Hmm, never tried it with Guest network enabled. Shouldn't be any difference in theory. Firmware flaw, perhaps. They'll fix it.