1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Switch recommendations

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by kannanni, Aug 23, 2019.

  1. kannanni

    kannanni New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Hi there,

    I am planning to use a spare unused ac68u as a switch. Could you guys please recommend the best way. Set it as an AP with disabled WiFi, or as a router with disabled Nat, DHCP and WiFi?
    Or will it be better if I buy for example: a cheap unmanaged TP link switch?

    It has to be gigabit connection though as it will be used to transfer high amounts of data fast.


    Cheers
     
  2. JDB

    JDB Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    835
    Buy a switch


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Clark Griswald likes this.
  3. Klueless

    Klueless Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    694
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    I agree. Buy a cheap unmanaged gigabit switch. Much smaller footprint, less power consumption, no setup issues and less issues with location.
     
  4. follower

    follower Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    167
    These switches are so cheap. Don't expect the quality.
    SG105 or SG108
     
  5. CaptainSTX

    CaptainSTX Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,989
    I have several TP-Link both the unmanaged and managed versions and the oldest one has been in service for five years with no issues.

    That being said converting an old router into a switch works just fine and prevents another piece of obsolete gear from being sent to the landfill.

    To make a router into a switch just turn of the radios and the DHCP server. Remove the antennas if you want. The LAN ports will work as a gig switch. Do not use the WAN port unless old router's firmware will let you add it to the LAN. If you choose to switch it to the AP mode then the AC68's firmware will let you use the WAN as a LAN port, but in this mode I'm not sure if you can disable the WiFi.
     
  6. Klueless

    Klueless Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    694
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Good point but I rarely toss one; hot spare, backup, play device, donation to "friends and family". the list goes on ...

    Just passed on an old N66U to a young friend. It fixed the problems he was having with his ISP equipment, saved him $5/$10 per month (leasing) and saved him $100 out-of-pocket whilst wondering if buying would be the "right mistake".
     
  7. CaptainSTX

    CaptainSTX Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,989
    I still have a couple of Linksys 54Gs around from circa 2004. One I am using as a switch behind my TV to provide multiple Ethernet feeds for the TV, Roku and a Tivo. Fast Ethernet is plenty of bandwidth for this application since only a single device is streaming at a time.
     
  8. Clark Griswald

    Clark Griswald Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Northern California, USA
  9. kannanni

    kannanni New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Hi guys,

    I’m now using my spare ac68u converted to a switch. Super quick for the moment for my needs. If I see any issues I’ll go and get a switch.
    Thanks for your time to all of you
     
    Klueless likes this.
  10. Klueless

    Klueless Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    694
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Which approach did you take? Set up as router and disabled features or set up as an AP and disabled features?
     
  11. kannanni

    kannanni New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    I tried the ap mode however I couldn’t turn the radios off. So it’s now on router mode with dhcp,nat,upnp and all radios off. Of course I had to manually change the gateway to something different to the main router. I only needed 3 ports so this is perfect at the moment
     
  12. CaptainSTX

    CaptainSTX Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,989
    Just curious did you try using the WiFi on/off switch on the router's side to manually check if the radios would turn off?
     
  13. Grisu

    Grisu Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,302
    wondering that turning off wifi wont be possible in AP mode, I had no problem to turn off radios 2.4G and/or 5G separately on both 68U and 86U.