1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Synology reveals its RT2600ac router at Computex

Discussion in 'General Wireless Discussion' started by TheLostSwede, Jun 1, 2016.

  1. TheLostSwede

    TheLostSwede Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    190
    Synology revealed its new RT2600ac router at Computex this week and below is a quick look at what to expect.

    rt2600ac_1.jpg

    Design wise the RT2600ac looks similar to other manufacturers AC2600 models with four fairly large, removable antennas spread across three sides of the router. There's a front mounted full-size SD card slot, as well as a USB 3.0 port on the left hand side.

    rt2600ac_3.jpg

    Around the back it looks quite empty, with a power switch by the power connector, a single USB 2.0 port, a WAN port and four LAN ports. Note that the first LAN port can be re-purposed as a WAN port and this is simply done using the web UI. The RT2600ac also supports fail-over, either via the second WAN port, or via a 3G/4G dongle inserted into one of the USB ports. This is all easily configurable in the web UI.

    One small snag is that the "stand" is not removable, yet there are wall mounting holes on the bottom of the RT2600ac. Hopefully Synology will fix this before they launch the product, or there's a risk there will be some upset customers.

    The RT2600ac is based on Qualcomm hardware, but Synology didn't reveal any specifics beyond it being a 1.7GHz dual-core SoC and the fact that this is a second generation MU-MIMO router.
    Synology is expecting to launch the RT2600ac towards the end of the year, at an unknown price point.

    rt2600ac_2.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2016
  2. pete y testing

    pete y testing Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,931
    Location:
    victoria, australia
    synology go mark 2 on their venture into the router world

    http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/tech-news-synology-announces-new-rt2600ac-router-computex-2016

    2600ac class so 1733Mbps on its 5GHz band and up to 800Mbps on its 2.4GHz band and mimo capable

    Synology RT2600ac is powered by a 1.7GHz dual-core processor, presumably a solution from Qualcomm. The router will also offer USB 3.0 ports and an SD card reader.

    Finally, the router will feature Synology’s updated router management interface called Synology Router Management 1.1 (SRM). Some new features brought about by SRM 1.1 include network mapping and real-time traffic analyzer.

    no word yet on release date or availability

    just hope this time they do some more beta testing and stick to a know working chipset that can compete with the other manufactures after the very average wifi performance of the rt1900ac

    beaten by the poster above

    pete
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2016
    L&LD likes this.
  3. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,957
    Looking forward to what they learned from V1 too. ;)
     
  4. TheLostSwede

    TheLostSwede Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    190
    The guy I spoke to was one of their marketing guys, but it seems like they've had to eat some humble pie...
    He of course tried to spin it all as a good thing with them now enabling a feature that "seamlessly" switches your devices from 5GHz to 2.4GHz if the signal is weak. I'm not sure if this is a good thing or not, as it seems like they really messed up the 5GHz Wi-Fi.
     
  5. hggomes

    hggomes Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Wireless and USB slow speeds were fixed now on latest FW, most of the RT-1900AC reviews/tests using older FW versions are misleading users.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2016
    L&LD likes this.
  6. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    14,322
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Cool!

    Always wondered though - why not include the Router functionality as part of DSM and partner up with an ODM for an AP solution, managing the AP via DSM...

    That would play to Synology's key strengths in a very big way...
     
  7. pete y testing

    pete y testing Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,931
    Location:
    victoria, australia
    testing here on the 1900ac with the latest fw didnt improve anything its still a good 20% less on throughput at range

    nothing misleading about it
     
  8. pete y testing

    pete y testing Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,931
    Location:
    victoria, australia
    issue will be by the tine we see this actually released its wifi standard will again be old hat as was the 1900ac that came quite late to the 1900ac class race , they should have gone for the 2156M class design
     
  9. TheManFromUncle

    TheManFromUncle Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    I've enjoyed using my RT1900AC very much. Wireless performance actually beats my Asus AC68U. I for one, am looking forward to more networking products by Synology. In my environment and for the purposes I use it, it's almost been perfect.
     
  10. hggomes

    hggomes Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
  11. pete y testing

    pete y testing Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,931
    Location:
    victoria, australia
  12. pege63

    pege63 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,005
    Location:
    Sweden, AngelIsland
    Version: 1.0.3-6030-1
    (2016/04/19)
    1. Adjusted transmission power settings for Synology Router in China.
    2. Updated the database of web-filter and traceroute.
    3. Fixed an issue where SRM might fail to get an assigned IP address from certain vendor’s DHCP server.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2016
  13. pete y testing

    pete y testing Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,931
    Location:
    victoria, australia

    seeing as we dont live in china that doesnt help us much does it
     
  14. pege63

    pege63 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,005
    Location:
    Sweden, AngelIsland
    Oh its only for the china router marken? OK
    Then the Version: 1.0.3-6030 should only be for the German market?

    1. Modified transmission power settings according to feedback from Bundesnetzagentur in Germany.
    Modified isn it the same as adjusted then?
     
  15. pete y testing

    pete y testing Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,931
    Location:
    victoria, australia
    not in germany ether

    they adjusted most of the countries early on even b4 the usa got it they had adjusted ours here in aust

    the rt1900ac still remains a disapointment when compared to other 1900ac class routers wifi wise

    but anyway we digress this is the new synology router thread and like i said i hope they do more homework this time and beta test the thing before release , would make a world of difference
     
    pege63 likes this.
  16. TheLostSwede

    TheLostSwede Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    190
    Actually, I was told by Synology that 1.1b is out and that it's meant to add some new features and fix some issues, so maybe check in their beta section or something?
     
  17. pege63

    pege63 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,005
    Location:
    Sweden, AngelIsland
    There is nothing i that mapp beta no 1.1b at all.
     
  18. Mordred

    Mordred Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    101
    And you think the german FCC told them, hey your ouput power is too low, raise it. LOL

    Most likely it was too high and they had to lower it, which means performance/range will drop.
    The difference between a good and a great wireless router is the board layout.
    Netgear sets the standards here, e.g. the R7000 had no problems with USB3 interference like Asus, which had to add hacks into their firmware.

    Thus even if SRM is good and uses the same driver as netgear, with the same settings, it doesn't mean it will perform as good, unless the electrical design is of the same quality.
     
  19. pege63

    pege63 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,005
    Location:
    Sweden, AngelIsland
    That was NOT the question, You misunderstand it.
    I wondered if the FW was same customized for all countrys.
     
  20. pete y testing

    pete y testing Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,931
    Location:
    victoria, australia
    nope very country specific
     
    pege63 likes this.