What's new

System clock not acquiring time from NIST server when router is in "slave" mode.

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

pf5x

New Around Here
Hi all,

I have my two RT-N66U's in master-slave configuration like this:

Router #1, connected to WAN, LAN IP 192.168.2.1 with DHCP enabled.

Router #2 connected wired LAN-to-LAN to router #1, LAN IP 192,168.2.2, DHCP disabled.

This set-up functions perfectly, I have good wireless coverage with 2 different SSIDs but on the same IP subnet 192.168.2.x, so all my wireless devices can share etc. as needed, and my network printer is reachable via both routers.

I want to switch off my wireless radios during the night with the scheduler on the Administration page, provided the system time is correct. Router #1 gets the system time from the NIST server correctly, however router #2 apparently is unable to acquire the correct time (or does not acquire at all), despite the fact that all setting concerning the time server are the same as in router #1 and that router #2 is connected to the Internet via router #1.

What am I doing wrong ? Any solution (running a cmd in order to start the time setting in router #2) ?

-- Enno

Like router 1, router 2 expects to poll the NTP server via its WAN port, which isn't connected.

Like router 1, router 2 expects to poll the NTP server via its WAN port, which isn't connected.
Hi Tim,

Thanks, makes sense. But now the question is, if I make a (Router#1 LAN)-to-(Router#2 WAN) connection can I still have one subnet ? I want devices connected to Router#2 to be seen by devices connected to Router#1 and vice-versa ... E.g. my network printer (192.168.2.99) is on router#2 and I have a PC on router#1 who needs to print on it.

-- Enno