1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Systemlog RC-68U "Need to restart wireless due current chanspec is un-available" ?!

Discussion in 'ASUS Wireless' started by WoodenClogs, Apr 5, 2020.

  1. WoodenClogs

    WoodenClogs New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Hi all, I have no luck in trying to find the following error from my Asus RT-68U's (set up in Aimesh with two other RT-68U's on the upper floors) systemlog: "Need to restart wireless due current chanspec is un-available".

    It keeps disconnecting clients. This problem popped up a few weeks ago, auto-update is on and all three have the most recent firmware. The channel selection is on AUTO in the router setup.

    And I haven't been pressing any buttons or changing any settings.. o_O

    Here's a piece of systemlog of when it disconnects:

    Code:
    Apr  5 10:57:52 acsd: selected channel spec: 0xd08c (140)
    Apr  5 10:57:52 acsd: Adjusted channel spec: 0xd08c (140)
    Apr  5 10:57:52 acsd: selected DFS-exit channel spec: 0xd08c (140)
    Apr  5 10:57:52 acsd: selected channel spec: 0xd08c (140)
    Apr  5 10:57:52 acsd: Adjusted channel spec: 0xd08c (140)
    Apr  5 10:57:52 acsd: selected channel spec: 0xd08c (140)
    Apr  5 10:57:52 acsd: acs_set_chspec: 0xd08c (140) for reason APCS_INIT
    Apr  5 10:57:53 syslog:   wl_chanspec_changed_action: Need to restart wireless due current chanspec is un-available
    Apr  5 10:57:53 rc_service: cfg_server 32202:notify_rc restart_wireless
    Apr  5 10:57:53 rc_service: waitting "restart_wireless" via cfg_server ...
    Apr  5 10:58:02 acsd: selected channel spec: 0x100a (10)
    Apr  5 10:58:02 acsd: Adjusted channel spec: 0x100a (10)
    Apr  5 10:58:02 acsd: selected DFS-exit channel spec: 0x100a (10)
    Apr  5 10:58:02 acsd: selected channel spec: 0x100a (10)
    Apr  5 10:58:02 acsd: Adjusted channel spec: 0x100a (10)
    Apr  5 10:58:02 acsd: selected channel spec: 0x100a (10)
    Apr  5 10:58:02 acsd: acs_set_chspec: 0x100a (10) for reason APCS_INIT
    Apr  5 10:58:07 acsd: selected channel spec: 0xd08c (140)
    Apr  5 10:58:07 acsd: Adjusted channel spec: 0xd08c (140)
    Apr  5 10:58:07 acsd: selected DFS-exit channel spec: 0xd08c (140)
    Apr  5 10:58:07 acsd: selected channel spec: 0xd08c (140)
    Apr  5 10:58:07 acsd: Adjusted channel spec: 0xd08c (140)
    Apr  5 10:58:07 acsd: selected channel spec: 0xd08c (140)
    Apr  5 10:58:07 acsd: acs_set_chspec: 0xd08c (140) for reason APCS_INIT
    Apr  5 10:58:11 syslog:   wl_chanspec_changed_action: Need to restart wireless due current chanspec is un-available
    Apr  5 10:58:11 rc_service: cfg_server 396:notify_rc restart_wireless
    Apr  5 10:58:20 acsd: selected channel spec: 0x1001 (1)
    Apr  5 10:58:20 acsd: Adjusted channel spec: 0x1001 (1)
    Apr  5 10:58:20 acsd: selected DFS-exit channel spec: 0x1001 (1)
    Apr  5 10:58:20 acsd: selected channel spec: 0x1001 (1)
    Apr  5 10:58:20 acsd: Adjusted channel spec: 0x1001 (1)
    Apr  5 10:58:20 acsd: selected channel spec: 0x1001 (1)
    Apr  5 10:58:20 acsd: acs_set_chspec: 0x1001 (1) for reason APCS_INIT
    Apr  5 10:58:24 acsd: selected channel spec: 0xd08c (140)
    Apr  5 10:58:24 acsd: Adjusted channel spec: 0xd08c (140)
    Apr  5 10:58:24 acsd: selected DFS-exit channel spec: 0xd08c (140)
    Apr  5 10:58:24 acsd: selected channel spec: 0xd08c (140)
    Apr  5 10:58:24 acsd: Adjusted channel spec: 0xd08c (140)
    Apr  5 10:58:24 acsd: selected channel spec: 0xd08c (140)
    Apr  5 10:58:24 acsd: acs_set_chspec: 0xd08c (140) for reason APCS_INIT
    Anyone a clue what is going on? Many thanks! :)
     
  2. WoodenClogs

    WoodenClogs New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    The ISP isn't the problem by the way, the ISP fiberglass modem/router's wifi works perfectly and is my working back-up.

    The Aimesh router is next to that, wired, on the ground floor and has back haul to both Aimesh nodes on the first and second floor with Cat 6 cables.

    ISP sells their own accespoints/nodes now, not too keen switching to that after investing in two new 68U's for this house.. :D
     
  3. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,592
    Location:
    USA
    A relatively recent firmware introduced excessive Auto channel scanning and changing. I suggest you try using fixed channels... the least used around you. For 2.4, try 1, 6, or 11 at 20 MHz. For 5.0, try 149 or above at 80 MHz.

    OE
     
    WoodenClogs likes this.
  4. WoodenClogs

    WoodenClogs New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks, will try that!

    edit: set the 2.4Ghz on fixed but the 5Ghz only goes up to 140 maximum?
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2020
  5. Hawk

    Hawk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    387
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    In that case set channel between 36 to 48, since channel above 140 is not available in your region .
     
    WoodenClogs and OzarkEdge like this.
  6. WoodenClogs

    WoodenClogs New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    A final thanks, after a week of usage: the fixed channels setting solved my problem! Thank you all!
     
    L&LD likes this.