What's new

Testing DNS-over-TLS while connected as OpenVPN client

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

jorgsmash

Hello SNB community!! This is my first post but I hope to learn a lot from you all! I just got an ASUS RT-AX88u a few days ago and installed the latest Merlin firmware so I am new to the router and it's software. I have been playing around in the settings and have configure DDNS and I set up a VPN Client profile for my VPN (VPN Unlimited - Purchased lifetime subscription a few years ago for about $35. It's average. Good deal but looking for something better in the future).

I have Diversion and Skynet installed and enabled. (more questions on those once I read up on them more.)

My goal: To have my LG Smart TV route through the VPN and either a.) use only the vpn dns or b.) use my router as DNS and ignore the VPN dns. Whichever is better for personal privacy because I believe smartTVs collect a lot of personal data and send it to 3rd parties.

In the community's opinion, what is a better configuration when it comes to security/privacy:
a.) When the TV is connected to the VPN as a client, route all traffic through the VPN and accept the VPN provider's DNS settings.
OR
b.) When the TV is connected to the VPN as a client, ignore the VPN DNS and use my own DoT or Cloudflare or Quad9 DNS. This in my opinion would be a better choice as I would like Diversion to work on the SmartTV as well.