What's new

Time Warner perhaps Router/Modem issue? limited download

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

ariel f

New Around Here
Let me preface this by saying I am a complete newbie when it comes to networking. I am however technical enough to learn to a point ;). (embedded programmer in the semi industry) Thus any help no matter how trivial will be of help. Thank you in advance!

I am currently trying to figure out what is limiting my download. I have Time Warner and am paying for the 300Mbps download package. Hardware is:
  • Netgear R7800
  • ARRIS SURFboard SB6141 DOCSIS 3.0 (connected to router via CAT5e)

I have tested a hard-wired (CAT5e) laptop plugged in directly to my router and found max download to be ~120-130Mbps using the following sites selecting nearby servers:

I ran the same tests using the 5GHz network on the same websites/servers and found the max download to be once again ~120-130Mbps.

Not really sure how to go any deeper or what the proper way to test each piece of hardware would be(ie. modem then router then modem/router combo)

What are your speeds when connected directly to the modem?

What are your speeds when connected directly to the modem?
Just ran the same labtop with Cat5e cable connected directly to the modem bypassing the router and used the same websites/servers again to verify speed and I am getting the exact same speed as before with all the other tests. ~120Mbps down, ~11Mbps up

Ran the test about an hour ago at 8am EST so traffic should be low

Yes, the modem seems to be the issue (even though the spec's say up to 343Mbps download speeds).

http://www.surfboard.com/products/sb6141/