1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Transmission rates

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by EventPhotoMan, Dec 18, 2018.

  1. EventPhotoMan

    EventPhotoMan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    301
    I see a difference here in my bridge 192.168.1.15, which in connected to an access point 192.168.1.11

    Why the difference in transmission rates?

    9C30DB16-2BF2-4A2E-80DC-B69580C95900.jpeg D3C5B8F3-628E-4ECD-B191-E9C2F9A1FDB3.jpeg
     
  2. EventPhotoMan

    EventPhotoMan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    301
  3. Hawk

    Hawk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Regarding first screenshot, look like it is either faulty or in power save mode which reduce link rate when idle.
     
  4. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    7,252
    Location:
    UK
    The rates in the left picture will fluctuate depending on what traffic is currently being transferred at that moment in time. I don't know about the rate on the right as I don't use that setup. But if it never changes I'd speculate that it is showing you the maximum possible rate rather than the current rate.
     
  5. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,703
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    11n can have asymmetric transmit rates - so looking on one side, you see the AP, the other is the rate from the client.

    It's not unusual...
     
  6. EventPhotoMan

    EventPhotoMan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    301
    CA462AF6-740E-433D-BA81-5326983DE85C.jpeg 8641A9EA-AC1D-4B8F-9A45-5994DEF88935.jpeg im not going to explain my whole network, keep my issue simple.

    Hope to clear up some bridge mode issues.

    192.168.1.15 is in bridge mode
    192.168.1.11 is an access point mode

    So the connection rates should be identical?

    Also, access point 192.168.1.11 know the connected client is 192.168.1.15; why does the client 192.168.1.15 not know it’s connected to 192.168.11?

    Just trying to iron out a few things and see if it leads to any solutions.

    My Brydges are not stable.
     
  7. Jack Yaz

    Jack Yaz Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,357
  8. EventPhotoMan

    EventPhotoMan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    301
    Trying to tackle the issue systematically.

    I’m tired of the brydge going down.
     
    Jack Yaz likes this.
  9. EventPhotoMan

    EventPhotoMan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    301
    My other brydge when down, 192.168.1.17 (connected to 192.168.1.16)

    How could the wireless be disabled?

    EC137557-BE75-4F16-9C01-5A11276467E7.png
     
  10. EventPhotoMan

    EventPhotoMan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    301
    And @ColinTaylor suggetion I’d the bit rate changing based on the demand, well, that is not so. I connected a client on 192.168.1.16 and started streaming video.

    The RX/TX rates don’t change.

    Displaying low level details shows the same.
     
  11. EventPhotoMan

    EventPhotoMan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    301
    Second brydge , 192.168.1.17, shows the same RX/TX values too of 6 mbps
     
  12. EventPhotoMan

    EventPhotoMan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    301
    I’m trying to watch the log file to see if I can get an on-site.
     
  13. EventPhotoMan

    EventPhotoMan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    301
    Does anyone know what 'Deep Green mode' is?
    Is there a way to disable this feature?

    I'm thinking my bridges go into sleep mode and loose their connection.
     
  14. EventPhotoMan

    EventPhotoMan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    301
    Almost 24 hours and it’s still working

    215894F9-CDDE-4FE4-BCA0-5BAF23F0D4C5.jpeg

    Thou my confidence is low.
     
  15. EventPhotoMan

    EventPhotoMan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    301
    So I came home today.

    192.168.1.17 I could not ping
    But after pinging 192.168.1.15
    It seem to wake up 192.168.1.15, which is connected to .16 and .17

    So my thought are still thinking that the bridge goes to sleep