1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. SNBForums Code of Conduct

    SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

    Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

    The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Trouble setting up OpenVPN server + Tunnelblick on Mac

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by ionblue, Aug 14, 2017.

  1. ionblue

    ionblue Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    I'm trying to setup OpenVPN server on my AC5300 (v. 380.67) and for the life of me I can't get the client, Tunnelblick on Mac, to connect. Admittedly, I have no idea what I'm doing with the settings in either place, but I've tried a ton of different configurations and none will connect. I'm also not seeing any errors on the client side or on the router so I'm at a loss as to where to start troubleshooting.

    As a last ditch effort I reset to defaults, didn't change anything, exported the file, imported the file on the client and when I try to connect it just says "waiting for connection". Then does nothing till I cancel.

    Could someone help me with at least a starting point? Looking at the documentation is getting me nowhere I'm afraid.
     
  2. ionblue

    ionblue Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    The only thing I see on the router side is this when OpenVPN starts up:

    Could not determine IPv4/IPv6 protocol. Using AF_INET6

    Does that mean it's trying to use IPv6? I don't have that enabled.
     
  3. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    32,077
    Location:
    Canada
    Make sure you get the Tunnelblick version that's based on OpenVPN 2.4 and not 2.3. Also test from outside your network (i.e. over LTE or from outside home).
     
  4. ionblue

    ionblue Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    The one I downloaded has 2.4.3 support, but I'll double check it. I did try using an LTE connection to come in from the outside, however I didn't try that after I reset it. I'll try it as is though.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  5. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    32,077
    Location:
    Canada
    If it doesn't even connect at all, then most likely reasons:

    - Your router is behind another firewall
    - You're using the wrong port or protocol (unlikely if you imported the ovpn)
    - You're connecting to the wrong address
    - Either your mobile provider or your ISP is blocking the port/protocol you are trying to use (some mobile providers will do that)
     
  6. ionblue

    ionblue Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Well, I now see that the IP that is getting resolved from the ASUS dynamic DNS is not correct. That will obviously be a problem. I tried disabling then enabling that service again to update the IP, but it did not. Any way to force an update?
     
  7. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    32,077
    Location:
    Canada
    The IP should update whenever the WAN IP changes. You could try rebooting the router to force a refresh, but if the IP isn't correct, it might indicate a problem with your Asus DDNS account.

    Personally, I recommend looking at a different dyndns service. Asus's service has had a couple of extended outages over the years.
     
  8. ionblue

    ionblue Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks. I got a DynDNS account and I can now connect. I did get a pop-up saying that my local IP didn't change, but I didn't dig any further. When I check it in my phone I am seeing a different IP so I'm not sure if there's an issue or not. I'll check it again shortly to make sure it's operating as it should on the Mac side.
     
  9. ionblue

    ionblue Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    I think I got it figured out. Thanks for the help!