Trying to make sense of why router reset to defaults

  • SNBForums will be unavailable for about 2 hours TODAY 23 January starting around 2PM EDT for a server changeover.

    All accounts and posts will be preserved.
  • ATTENTION! As of November 1, 2020, you are not able to reply to threads 6 months after the thread is opened if there are more than 500 posts in the thread.
    Threads will not be locked, so posts may still be edited by their authors.
    Just start a new thread on the topic to post if you get an error message when trying to reply to a thread.

QuikSilver

Very Senior Member
Woke up this morning to find that I had no internet, tried to log into router to find that it had reset itself to factory default (192.168.50.1). Luckily I had backups and was able to get thing up quickly but I would like to know if this was something that could have been prevented. Out of NVRAM possibly??

Code:
Jul 28 22:12:02 RT-AC86U-AEA8 FlexQoS: No TC modifications necessary

Jul 28 22:16:13 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: bcm63xx_nand ff801800.nand: timeout waiting for command 0x1

Jul 28 22:16:13 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: bcm63xx_nand ff801800.nand: intfc status f00000e0

Jul 28 22:19:04 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: [tdts_shell_ioctl_stat:256] Recv ioctl req with op 2

Jul 28 22:21:00 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: bcm63xx_nand ff801800.nand: timeout waiting for command 0x1

Jul 28 22:21:00 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: bcm63xx_nand ff801800.nand: intfc status f00000e0

Jul 28 22:39:39 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: [tdts_shell_ioctl_stat:256] Recv ioctl req with op 2

Jul 28 22:57:02 RT-AC86U-AEA8 (unbound_log.sh): 16221 Processed 0 reply_domains...

Jul 28 22:57:02 RT-AC86U-AEA8 (unbound_log.sh): 16221 Processed 0 nx_domains...

Jul 28 22:57:05 RT-AC86U-AEA8 (unbound_log.sh): 16221 Processed 0 RPZ events...

Jul 28 23:02:43 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: bcm63xx_nand ff801800.nand: timeout waiting for command 0x1

Jul 28 23:02:43 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: bcm63xx_nand ff801800.nand: intfc status f00000e0

Jul 28 23:07:32 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: htb: htb qdisc 13: is non-work-conserving?

Jul 28 23:09:37 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: [tdts_shell_ioctl_stat:256] Recv ioctl req with op 2

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: nand: Could not find valid ONFI parameter page; aborting

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: brcmboard registered

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: genirq: Flags mismatch irq 36. 00000000 (brcm_36) vs. 00000000 (brcm_36)

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: pci 0000:00:00.0: of_irq_parse_pci() failed with rc=-22

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: pci 0000:01:00.0: of_irq_parse_pci() failed with rc=-22

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: pci 0001:00:00.0: of_irq_parse_pci() failed with rc=-22

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: pci 0001:01:00.0: of_irq_parse_pci() failed with rc=-22

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: broadcomThermalDrv brcm-therm: init (CPU count 2 2 2 2)

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: eth1 (Ext switch port: 0) (Logical Port: 8) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: eth4 (Ext switch port: 3) (Logical Port: 11) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: eth3 (Ext switch port: 2) (Logical Port: 10) Link UP 1000 mbps full duplex

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: eth1 (Ext switch port: 0) (Logical Port: 8) Link DOWN.

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: eth3 (Ext switch port: 2) (Logical Port: 10) Link DOWN.

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: eth4 (Ext switch port: 3) (Logical Port: 11) Link DOWN.

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: eth1 (Ext switch port: 0) (Logical Port: 8) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: eth4 (Ext switch port: 3) (Logical Port: 11) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: eth3 (Ext switch port: 2) (Logical Port: 10) Link UP 1000 mbps full duplex

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: eth0 (Int switch port: 3) (Logical Port: 3) Link UP 1000 mbps full duplex

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: hub 1-0:1.0: config failed, hub doesn't have any ports! (err -19)

May  5 01:05:15 acsd: selected channel spec: 0x1003 (3)

May  5 01:05:15 acsd: Adjusted channel spec: 0x1003 (3)

May  5 01:05:15 acsd: selected channel spec: 0x1003 (3)

May  5 01:05:15 acsd: acs_set_chspec: 0x1003 (3) for reason APCS_INIT

May  5 01:05:16 acsd: selected channel spec: 0xe02a (36/80)

May  5 01:05:16 acsd: Adjusted channel spec: 0xe02a (36/80)

May  5 01:05:16 acsd: selected channel spec: 0xe02a (36/80)

May  5 01:05:16 acsd: acs_set_chspec: 0xe02a (36/80) for reason APCS_INIT

May  5 01:05:26 Mastiff: init

May  5 01:05:26 wsdd2[1557]: error: wsdd-mcast-v4: wsd_send_soap_msg: send

May  5 01:05:29 wsdd2[1557]: error: wsdd-mcast-v4: wsd_send_soap_msg: send

May  5 01:05:29 wsdd2[1557]: error: wsdd-mcast-v4: wsd_send_soap_msg: send

May  5 01:05:42 modprobe: module scsi_wait_scan not found in modules.dep

May  5 01:05:42 modprobe: module uas not found in modules.dep

May  5 01:05:42 modprobe: module mbcache not found in modules.dep

May  5 01:05:42 modprobe: module jbd not found in modules.dep

May  5 01:05:42 modprobe: module ext3 not found in modules.dep

May  5 01:05:42 modprobe: module ext4 not found in modules.dep

May  5 01:05:42 modprobe: module ext2 not found in modules.dep

May  5 01:05:42 modprobe: module btusbdrv not found in modules.dep

Jul 29 09:27:36 RT-AC86U-AEA8 disk_monitor: Finish

Jul 29 09:27:36 RT-AC86U-AEA8 custom_script: Running /jffs/scripts/service-event-end (args: restart diskmon)

Jul 29 09:27:36 RT-AC86U-AEA8 start_ddns: update WWW.ASUS.COM [email protected], wan_unit 0

Jul 29 09:27:37 RT-AC86U-AEA8 disk_monitor: be idle

Jul 29 09:27:37 RT-AC86U-AEA8 inadyn[3900]: In-a-dyn version 2.7 -- Dynamic DNS update client.

Jul 29 09:27:37 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: ERR: bdmf_attrelem_add_as_buf#4250: ucast: status:Entry already exists. attribute:flow  index:4294967295
 

JohnD5000

Senior Member
4 or 5 days ago, this happened to me too. No idea why. I used backups to get back quickly, but I used it as an excuse to do a complete restart.....I.e. factory..enter all settings by hand. Would be interested to know if there was a setting, script, or something that caused it, but I have no idea.
 

QuikSilver

Very Senior Member
4 or 5 days ago, this happened to me too. No idea why. I used backups to get back quickly, but I used it as an excuse to do a complete restart.....I.e. factory..enter all settings by hand. Would be interested to know if there was a setting, script, or something that caused it, but I have no idea.
Interesting.....How many clients do you have? I have around 35-45 clients including IP cameras, smart devices, etc....That what leads me to believe issue may be a NVRAM running out issue. I don't have issue with my other 86u setup similar. That unit has been up 26+ days with only difference being less clients and different ISP.
 

Mutzli

Very Senior Member
Happended to me as well about 3 months ago on one of my RT-AX88U routers. Same experience as yours, no internet in the morning and router was on virgin settings waiting to be configured. It's interesting that you still have a log available with information prior to the reset.
 

QuikSilver

Very Senior Member
Happended to me as well about 3 months ago on one of my RT-AX88U routers. Same experience as yours, no internet in the morning and router was on virgin settings waiting to be configured. It's interesting that you still have a log available with information prior to the reset.
Yea, that confuses me even more. Would think if it was a true "reset" logs would have been cleared but you can tell from the logs it was configured previously.
 

TheLyppardMan

Very Senior Member
Woke up this morning to find that I had no internet, tried to log into router to find that it had reset itself to factory default (192.168.50.1). Luckily I had backups and was able to get thing up quickly but I would like to know if this was something that could have been prevented. Out of NVRAM possibly??

Code:
Jul 28 22:12:02 RT-AC86U-AEA8 FlexQoS: No TC modifications necessary

Jul 28 22:16:13 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: bcm63xx_nand ff801800.nand: timeout waiting for command 0x1

Jul 28 22:16:13 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: bcm63xx_nand ff801800.nand: intfc status f00000e0

Jul 28 22:19:04 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: [tdts_shell_ioctl_stat:256] Recv ioctl req with op 2

Jul 28 22:21:00 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: bcm63xx_nand ff801800.nand: timeout waiting for command 0x1

Jul 28 22:21:00 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: bcm63xx_nand ff801800.nand: intfc status f00000e0

Jul 28 22:39:39 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: [tdts_shell_ioctl_stat:256] Recv ioctl req with op 2

Jul 28 22:57:02 RT-AC86U-AEA8 (unbound_log.sh): 16221 Processed 0 reply_domains...

Jul 28 22:57:02 RT-AC86U-AEA8 (unbound_log.sh): 16221 Processed 0 nx_domains...

Jul 28 22:57:05 RT-AC86U-AEA8 (unbound_log.sh): 16221 Processed 0 RPZ events...

Jul 28 23:02:43 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: bcm63xx_nand ff801800.nand: timeout waiting for command 0x1

Jul 28 23:02:43 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: bcm63xx_nand ff801800.nand: intfc status f00000e0

Jul 28 23:07:32 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: htb: htb qdisc 13: is non-work-conserving?

Jul 28 23:09:37 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: [tdts_shell_ioctl_stat:256] Recv ioctl req with op 2

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: nand: Could not find valid ONFI parameter page; aborting

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: brcmboard registered

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: genirq: Flags mismatch irq 36. 00000000 (brcm_36) vs. 00000000 (brcm_36)

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: pci 0000:00:00.0: of_irq_parse_pci() failed with rc=-22

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: pci 0000:01:00.0: of_irq_parse_pci() failed with rc=-22

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: pci 0001:00:00.0: of_irq_parse_pci() failed with rc=-22

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: pci 0001:01:00.0: of_irq_parse_pci() failed with rc=-22

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: broadcomThermalDrv brcm-therm: init (CPU count 2 2 2 2)

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: eth1 (Ext switch port: 0) (Logical Port: 8) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: eth4 (Ext switch port: 3) (Logical Port: 11) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: eth3 (Ext switch port: 2) (Logical Port: 10) Link UP 1000 mbps full duplex

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: eth1 (Ext switch port: 0) (Logical Port: 8) Link DOWN.

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: eth3 (Ext switch port: 2) (Logical Port: 10) Link DOWN.

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: eth4 (Ext switch port: 3) (Logical Port: 11) Link DOWN.

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: eth1 (Ext switch port: 0) (Logical Port: 8) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: eth4 (Ext switch port: 3) (Logical Port: 11) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: eth3 (Ext switch port: 2) (Logical Port: 10) Link UP 1000 mbps full duplex

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: eth0 (Int switch port: 3) (Logical Port: 3) Link UP 1000 mbps full duplex

May  5 01:05:12 kernel: hub 1-0:1.0: config failed, hub doesn't have any ports! (err -19)

May  5 01:05:15 acsd: selected channel spec: 0x1003 (3)

May  5 01:05:15 acsd: Adjusted channel spec: 0x1003 (3)

May  5 01:05:15 acsd: selected channel spec: 0x1003 (3)

May  5 01:05:15 acsd: acs_set_chspec: 0x1003 (3) for reason APCS_INIT

May  5 01:05:16 acsd: selected channel spec: 0xe02a (36/80)

May  5 01:05:16 acsd: Adjusted channel spec: 0xe02a (36/80)

May  5 01:05:16 acsd: selected channel spec: 0xe02a (36/80)

May  5 01:05:16 acsd: acs_set_chspec: 0xe02a (36/80) for reason APCS_INIT

May  5 01:05:26 Mastiff: init

May  5 01:05:26 wsdd2[1557]: error: wsdd-mcast-v4: wsd_send_soap_msg: send

May  5 01:05:29 wsdd2[1557]: error: wsdd-mcast-v4: wsd_send_soap_msg: send

May  5 01:05:29 wsdd2[1557]: error: wsdd-mcast-v4: wsd_send_soap_msg: send

May  5 01:05:42 modprobe: module scsi_wait_scan not found in modules.dep

May  5 01:05:42 modprobe: module uas not found in modules.dep

May  5 01:05:42 modprobe: module mbcache not found in modules.dep

May  5 01:05:42 modprobe: module jbd not found in modules.dep

May  5 01:05:42 modprobe: module ext3 not found in modules.dep

May  5 01:05:42 modprobe: module ext4 not found in modules.dep

May  5 01:05:42 modprobe: module ext2 not found in modules.dep

May  5 01:05:42 modprobe: module btusbdrv not found in modules.dep

Jul 29 09:27:36 RT-AC86U-AEA8 disk_monitor: Finish

Jul 29 09:27:36 RT-AC86U-AEA8 custom_script: Running /jffs/scripts/service-event-end (args: restart diskmon)

Jul 29 09:27:36 RT-AC86U-AEA8 start_ddns: update WWW.ASUS.COM [email protected], wan_unit 0

Jul 29 09:27:37 RT-AC86U-AEA8 disk_monitor: be idle

Jul 29 09:27:37 RT-AC86U-AEA8 inadyn[3900]: In-a-dyn version 2.7 -- Dynamic DNS update client.

Jul 29 09:27:37 RT-AC86U-AEA8 kernel: ERR: bdmf_attrelem_add_as_buf#4250: ucast: status:Entry already exists. attribute:flow  index:4294967295
The default setting for an RT-AC86U is 192.168.1.1 and for an RT-AX88U is 192.168.50.1, so it's a bit more of a puzzle as to why an RT-AC86U would reset to the factory defaults for an RT-AX88U. Almost as weird as the problem I was having with Firefox crashing on the System Log page, which I've only just managed to rectify.
 

jsbeddow

Senior Member
The default setting for an RT-AC86U is 192.168.1.1 and for an RT-AX88U is 192.168.50.1, so it's a bit more of a puzzle as to why an RT-AC86U would reset to the factory defaults for an RT-AX88U. Almost as weird as the problem I was having with Firefox crashing on the System Log page, which I've only just managed to rectify.
Actually, the stock Asus default for an RT-AC86U is frequently 192.168.50.1 "in most cases", as it seems to depend on date (and location?) of manufacture as well as which specific firmware version we are talking about. Again, that seems to be the norm, with a few reported exceptions, so it is not at all surprising to see a reset go back to that address. Why these resets are randomly occuring is a whole separate issue, as yet unresolved.
 

JohnD5000

Senior Member
Interesting.....How many clients do you have? I have around 35-45 clients including IP cameras, smart devices, etc....That what leads me to believe issue may be a NVRAM running out issue. I don't have issue with my other 86u setup similar. That unit has been up 26+ days with only difference being less clients and different ISP.
I don't think that matters, I had been on same configuration for a while. Many dirty upgrades from stable to stable to beta to stable etc for a while. All Merlin updates (except alphas) Many upgrades of various scripts. It had been a while (maybe a year or more) since I did a reset (factory) rebuild.

Before I did my factory rebuild, after the router reset itself, I reloaded my latest backup of firmware and jffs partition, after that I updated Skynet, after that I tried to update FlexQoS but received an error. Seems there was a file locked by Skynet. Might be unrelated, but perhaps Skynet caused the random reset. Maybe not Anyhow, like I said, I ended up going Nuclear and doing a factory reset and rebuild by hand. Since then, no issues (but its only been a few days).
 

faria

Senior Member
Pinching in ...
My Rt-ac86u reseted itself about 6 mounts ago first time, i thougtg its was a fluke.

then it did it 3 weeks ago twice in 3 days!
I could not retrieve any relevant info from the logs .
the dam thing also never managed to stay uptime for more than 6 days , every 4-to 6 days it reboots itself.
To be honest i don't really care anymore, let it run till it dies.
 

JohnD5000

Senior Member
Pinching in ...
My Rt-ac86u reseted itself about 6 mounts ago first time, i thougtg its was a fluke.

then it did it 3 weeks ago twice in 3 days!
I could not retrieve any relevant info from the logs .
the dam thing also never managed to stay uptime for more than 6 days , every 4-to 6 days it reboots itself.
To be honest i don't really care anymore, let it run till it dies.
Did you ever do a Nuclear factory reset hand setup (not using saved settings)?
 

faria

Senior Member
Did you ever do a Nuclear factory reset hand setup (not using saved settings)?
i lost count, in the end i was spending way to much time trying to sort it.
This specific device is amazing when it works but its one most unreliable routers i ever had.
If i device requires several consecutives wipes in order to perform as should then something is amiss.
but then again i never runned stock on it "intended use" , as i would be kind of useless.
Now is just have an rt-ac87u as standby (irony) until i decide/find what to buy next.
 

dodge

Occasional Visitor
A reset happened to me as posted here. In my case I hard-rebooted the router and when it came back up boom, all gone. Whilst I love the h/w on the 86u it's definitely one of the most unstable ASUS routers I've had (previously on a rock solid 68u).

Other than that, the WebUI occasionally dies on me. There are suggestions to reset the router multiple times, and in-between resets reflash the firmware. Not sure why this has to be done. Isn't it binary i.e. upon flashing it should stick.
 

RMerlin

Asuswrt-Merlin dev
The most common causes:

- nvram was filled up
- Electrical problems
- Static discharge
 

Jeffrey Young

Senior Member
Electrical problems
- Static discharge
+1

Can't tell you how many routers over the years that I have been asked to trouble shoot only to find a flaky power supply, or home electrical supply being unstable. Usually for the later, a good UPS solves all kinds of issues. For the power supply, well, what I can say - the stock supplies are low quality, and do little in the way of buffering the home supply, and they get tired after a few years of continuous service.
 

QuikSilver

Very Senior Member
The most common causes:

- nvram was filled up
- Electrical problems
- Static discharge
Thanks @RMerlin, I'm leaning towards NVRAM being full. Is there a proper way to alleviate that? Is there a correlation between amount of clients and NVRAM being full?

Edit: Don't think (i hope) its the other issues as I have a battery backup on all my electronics.
 
Last edited:

Jeffrey Young

Senior Member
Thanks @RMerlin, I'm leaning towards NVRAM being full. Is there a proper way to alleviate that? Is there a correlation between amount of clients and NVRAM being full?
From a shell prompt, issue;
Code:
df -h
look for the line that has /jffs at the end. To the left of that column will be a % value of how full the /jffs partition is.
 

QuikSilver

Very Senior Member
From a shell prompt, issue;
Code:
df -h
look for the line that has /jffs at the end. To the left of that column will be a % value of how full the /jffs partition is.
Showing this now.....Gonna keep this command in my back pocket though.

/dev/mtdblock8 48.0M 16.7M 31.3M 35% /jffs
 

faria

Senior Member
all my network devices are on a Ups as for Nvram being full i kept an eye on since had had trouble with static leases a few months ago witch was caused by a database filling it up (TrafficAnalyzer.db if i recall it correctly ) but its totally plausible.
Just for kicks i gonna write a little cron job to monitor and log nvram every hour on my device.
 

Martinski

Occasional Visitor
From a shell prompt, issue;
Code:
df -h
look for the line that has /jffs at the end. To the left of that column will be a % value of how full the /jffs partition is.
Thanks @RMerlin, I'm leaning towards NVRAM being full. Is there a proper way to alleviate that? Is there a correlation between amount of clients and NVRAM being full?

Edit: Don't think (i hope) its the other issues as I have a battery backup on all my electronics.
RE: NVRAM, you can quickly check its status on the router's Web GUI menu:
Tools --> SysInfo: "
SysInfo_InternalStorage.jpg
" section.
 

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top