1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. SNBForums Code of Conduct

    SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

    Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

    The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Turn off certain notifications

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by mr9v9, Feb 14, 2020 at 10:54 PM.

  1. mr9v9

    mr9v9 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Friday
    Messages:
    2
    Hi guys,
    is there anyway to turn off annoying warnings like this one?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    32,075
    Location:
    Canada
    No.

    It's just a flashing icon, hardly obtrusive.
     
    ika and dosborne like this.
  3. mr9v9

    mr9v9 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Friday
    Messages:
    2
    I just don't understand why it needs to warn me about samba guest login if I am the one who enabled it? Why the hand holding?
     
  4. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6,360
    Location:
    Switzerland
    It's there to warn users of a potentially serious safety breach. Who leaves file sharing open to the world without login, even within your local area network?
     
    ika and L&LD like this.
  5. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    32,075
    Location:
    Canada
    When you do that with Windows, every time you install a Windows 10 update, it revers the setting and re-enables password-based access.

    Leaving shares open without authentication is simply bad security.
     
    ika and L&LD like this.