What's new

Two Modem Setup

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

paulbasel

Occasional Visitor
I have an office with a router on the top floor of my 3 floor house connected to my internet provider. One computer is connected via ethernet, the other is connected via wifi. I am attempting to provide a wifi on the ground floor. I have used a powerline system up to now but the increasing number of dropped connections is driving me mad.

I have two internet connections (wall plugs) on the ground floor, one of which is used by the TV. I also have an old wifi modem. Can I have both modems connected at the same time? If not, how would you suggest solving this problem. I am a novice so please walk me through the solution a step at a time or point me to a good source.

I have two internet connections (wall plugs) on the ground floor, one of which is used by the TV.
What do you mean by "internet connections". Do you mean that these wall sockets are connected to Ethernet cables that go back to the LAN ports of the router on the top floor?

I also have an old wifi modem. Can I have both modems connected at the same time? If not, how would you suggest solving this problem. I am a novice so please walk me through the solution a step at a time or point me to a good source.
What is the make and model number of this WiFi modem? If it can be configured as an access point (and thereby not using the modem part) it would probably work.

@ColinTaylor Pretty sure we're talking coax / CM's here.