What's new

UK EE broadband router no modem mode to asus rt ax58u

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

0lok09

New Around Here
Hi all, I am a newbie with networking and need help. I live in the UK and just recently got ee fiber broadband 300mbs. I just realised there router has no modem mode. I have a asus rt ax58u and wanted to use this router as my main instead of the router ee provided. How can I set this up? I used to have virgin media broadband which routers they provide has modem mode which was straightforward for me to set up. Also I am using merlin firmware, dont know if it would matter. I have read abit in the ee forum of how people set up there router on this link. Is this correct? Is this setup a good practice or should I change internet provider who has a router with modem mode?

Unless the hub has some sort of "IP passthrough" or bridge mode you will inevitably end up with a double NAT setup. However this is not necessarily a problem despite what the internet kiddies think. Just follow the instructions further down that thread and see how you get on.

What fiber connection do you have, FTTC with GFast or FTTP ?

If it is FTTP you just connect your ASUS router to the BT/OpenReach ONT, no modem required.

I found info this EE Smart Hub has default 192.168.1.x subnet, true? It's the same as many Asus routers. I would add to instructions changing the Asus LAN IP to 192.168.2.1 and eventually placing its WAN IP in EE DMZ, if available and if the EE WAN is not CGNAT IP address.

I found info this EE Smart Hub has default 192.168.1.x subnet, true? It's the same as many Asus routers. I would add to instructions changing the Asus LAN IP to 192.168.2.1 ...