What's new

Unable to see most UDP in tcpdump output on GS-AX3000

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

dwp

Regular Contributor
I am new to modern Asus routers and just got my 1st GS-AX3000. I managed to install Entware on the USB drive and installed the Entware tcpdump package so I can capture packets passing in the router and view them in Wireshark. I was pretty easily able to do this with my old Netgear R6400 (both v1 and v2) using its built-in tcpdump installation.

On a very basic level, this all appears to work on the new Asus. But after seeing the initial UDP connection and response between a device on my LAN to a server on the WAN, wireshark is NOT showing me the ongoing UDP traffic - at least not when filtering the data on the IP of the LAN device. However, I KNOW that the ongoing UDP conversation is happening fine as I can see the results of it via a web page. I find this strange indeed as this was all clear as day on the Netgear.

I decided to search in wireshark for the string that is the MAC of the LAN device. And I find a large number of them containing this information. They are all in localhost to localhost UDP packets and I suspect that the Asus is doing something that obfuscates (perhaps unintentionally, I don't know) what is going on from a wireshark perspective. At first I thought this might be the result of some form of traffic monitoring or QOS (or similar) but I have all of that disabled. There is, of course, the firewall that is enabled but I had one enabled on the Netgear as well.