1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Using old Apple AirPort Extreme as backup drive

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by Jmcnyc, Aug 10, 2018 at 7:54 PM.

  1. Jmcnyc

    Jmcnyc New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    I have an ASUS RT-AC3100 router. I used this to replace my old Apple AirPort Extreme. My Apple Extreme has 3TB of storage. I would like to use this storage as a backup target. Can I use this with the ASUS router, maybe the time machine feature? Any input?
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. HuskyHerder

    HuskyHerder Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    127
    I don’t see why it would not work. Though I have not tried it. I successfully ran 5 airport expresses for AirPlay for awhile till I purchased a couple 68u for nodes. I would occasionally use my extreme as a AP too in my Garage.
    I use a disk attached to a Mac mini on my net for Time Machine now.
     
  4. Jmcnyc

    Jmcnyc New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Would I just attach the Airport to the USB for the Asus modem? I can set the Airport up to act as a drive and not broadcast a wifi signal. Then I would assume I could just connect it via USB and see it as a target to support time machine.
     
  5. HuskyHerder

    HuskyHerder Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    127
    You could try that. However ...

    I think it may be best to put the TC as another part of the network.

    Assign it an IP and let it be a stand alone appliance. Or allow it one from dhcp pool. I am a fan of static IP’s for as much as I can.

    I personally would go this route so the TC can act as a buffer of sorts and keep all the heavy lifting of writing reading data verifying on the TC and off the router. The TC is already capable of handling this portion so why not use it. Thus Saving the processing power of the ASUS for net related activities. Even though that would includ getting the data to the TC I personally think it would be better. Just my 2 cents.

    You would set the TC to not issue dhcp / NAT disabled. It could still get a dhcp address from the ASUS it should retrieve one that’s part of your network.

    Then going this route you could still use it as an AP for Wi-Fi if needed. If you do use IT, then use same SSID and passphrase. You don’t need to currently. You can disable the Wi-Fi. Then if you ever need it to work as an AP you can. Just thinking about my past uses in this latter portion.
     
  6. ApexRon

    ApexRon Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Apex, NC
    My suggestion would be to connect the AirPort Time Capsule to the ASUS RT-AC3100 using an Ethernet cable. Make sure you use the WAN Ethernet port of the AirPort Time Capsule, disabling its WiFi. Now your Mac(s) should see the AirPort Time Capsule hard drive as a resource for Apple's Time Machine.
     
    HuskyHerder likes this.
  7. HuskyHerder

    HuskyHerder Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    127
    Good point I didn’t say it. Problem with thinking in your head, having already done it. You forget the little details.

    ^ certainly use a Ethernet cable no questions asked.
     
  8. ApexRon

    ApexRon Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Apex, NC
    :)
     
  9. Jmcnyc

    Jmcnyc New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks - will give it a try and report back.
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!